recent reads + august to-read

Hello!

I can’t believe tomorrow is August – where did 2017 go? In the midst of all of my travel posts, I thought I’d share a little reading update, since I’ve managed to read a few things during my flights and commutes. As of right now, I’ve read a grand total of six books this year – an all-time low for me 😭 If you remember, I made a list of five books I want to read before the end of 2017, and I managed to complete it! Well, sort of. Here’s a recap:

28007954The Hopefuls by Jennifer Close // I actually ended up really enjoying this one. I started this one back in March and finished it right before I left for Europe in June. I loved the politics and relationship drama. It was a bit predictable at times because what I didn’t want to happen to the main character, happened. But I do recommend it if you’re looking for a dramatic read!

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne // Oh gosh, I loved this one. 25883848This is definitely my favorite book of the year; I bet if I read 100 books this year, this would still be in the top ten at least. I couldn’t put it down! The banter between the main characters is incredibly witty and addicting to read. I highly, highly recommend this one.

Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg // I listened to this one on audio, and it was just what I expected. Being a business major, I’ve noticed a heavy emphasis on equality in the workplace at my school. I think the professors at my school already iterate a lot of things Sandberg notes, but it was a great reminder to lean in nevertheless.16071764

My (Not So) Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella // What a fun read! I read this one over the span of a month, but Kinsella never fails to put a smile on my face. The plot is a little outrageous, but it’s set in the UK (where I’ll be in a few weeks!) and cute, so I didn’t complain. A great, light read for the poolside or the beach!

30821598And then I didn’t get to The Knockoff – I tried reading it but it wasn’t my cup of tea, so it’s probably not going to be a book I’ll pick up this year. Maybe another time!

For the rest of August, I want to try to finish two more books. My London study abroad program does start this month, but I think I’ll still be able to manage since we’re commuting a lot! I want to try to read…

25781157.jpg

The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney // I’ve been a sucker lately for fiction that entails a ton of family drama – I have no idea why – and even though this one’s been getting mixed reviews, I’m still eager to pick it up, because one of my close friends Hannah said she really enjoyed it (and she’s an avid reader, too).

Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler // Yet another story that takes 26192646place in New York… can you tell I want to visit NY? If anything, this one’s about food so I really can’t resist. I’ve heard Danler’s culinary descriptions are impeccable, I can’t wait!

That’s all for my reading update – what have you read recently? Any last books you want to finish before the summer is over?

 

xx,

Jen

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

