halfway done with college – some thoughts

IMG_6017

Surprise! It’s not Monday but I decided to write up a quick post while I’m in the midst of preparing for final exams. This past weekend, my roommates dragged me out of the library to go with them to Pike Place Market since the weather was absolutely gorgeous, and we had said all quarter that we wanted to have one last “roommate date” before the end of the year.

I’m one of those people who need other people to make me go out and do fun things, or I will literally spend all day/night studying. Luckily, my roommates are exactly the people I need in my life.

I’ve had my fair share of Pike Place already, especially when I spent last summer in Seattle, but I always love the touristy vibes of the crowded alleys in the market – I can’t help wondering if Pike Place is just a small taste of what it’ll feel like strolling through the markets in Europe.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

(P.S. – peonies are my NEW favorite type of flower. I was so tempted to buy a bouquet just for myself!)

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

My roommates are seriously the cutest, and always photo-ready!!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

One of my roommates highly recommended Le Panier right by the market, and as you can tell by the bag, it’s a “very French bakery”. I got an iced latte and almond croissant, and it was so good, I highly recommend! This treat has me anticipating all the pastries in Paris when I’m there in July!

This trip to Pike Place was honestly what I needed before diving into final exams, but it is 143% crazy to me that I’m halfway done with college. HALFWAY. I mean I’ll probably do more school after college, but that’s beside the point. Why is it that two years in high school felt like ages longer than two years in college? I’m astounded that I’ll have obtained my bachelor’s in another two years; there are still so many people I want to meet, places I want to see, and things I want to do! It scares me that I’m only 20 but I feel like time already goes by so fast. So many times throughout this year, it felt like there was an hourglass constantly running and that I was always crunched for time.

One thing I’ve constantly been thinking about lately is to slow down. It’s ingrained in my mind to have a “go-go-go” mentality as a #girlboss, and it’s definitely still what I aspire to be. But that usually means I don’t get to enjoy anything I do, or savor any of it, because it’s just flying by. Strolling around Pike Place this weekend reminded me to just enjoy the now.

Why do I work so hard now? I answer by telling myself that I need to work hard now, play later. But as an adult, isn’t it… just more work? So when will I get to enjoy just the mere lifestyle of being a young adult? I’m hoping that with my upcoming trip to Europe, I’ll learn more things about myself and what I need to do for myself to be more content than I am now (not that I’m unhappy now, there’s just always a peak of happiness that I’m trying to reach). Not just for myself either, but to learn how to make others around me more content with the way my energy feeds off to other people.

xx

Jen

Leave a Reply

