it doesn’t hurt to try

F2175891-C413-4EF5-9D24-3831A069B456.jpg

Happy Friday!

Yeah… whoops! I haven’t posted in exactly a month, and I deeply apologize!

After spring quarter started, everything has been absolutely crazy. I only have classes twice a week, but somehow, my time has been occupied with my (very stressful) finance class, extracurriculars, and maybe too many coffee dates. I just finished my round of midterms and eeep, y’all, spring quarter is over in just a few weeks and then I’m off to the best summer ever abroad in Europe! (Post about travels plans coming soon!)

Today I wanted to talk about something that happened earlier this quarter. I meant to write this when it was fresh in my head, but (see above), I’ve been busy. As most of you know, I’m studying accounting right now in college and started the recruiting process early. If you’re not familiar with the accounting recruiting process, it’s basically where students meet with professionals from the public accounting firms and start networking to them to see if they’re a good fit for the firm, and eventually interview to see if they get accepted into the firms’ leadership programs, internships, or full-time positions.

I had an amazing mentor this year who really allowed and inspired me to go for stuff. I’ve been disappointed and let-down before when applying to things and getting rejected because I was too young. To be honest though, I’m numb to rejection now; I still can’t decide if it’s a good thing or not to be “numb”, but I like to think that I’m resilient. I had the opportunity earlier this year to apply to a ton of things even though I wasn’t “qualified” (graduation year, necessary education), but my mentor still encouraged me to apply. She said, “You never know”. So I did.

Just a few weeks ago, I got an offer at one of the public accounting firms that I really love. I few weeks after, I got another offer. I was shocked. This – all of this – is what I get for just trying?

If it weren’t for my mentor, I wouldn’t have felt this success and achievement. And that’s just it – you will never know if you don’t try. It doesn’t hurt to try – unless you’re wounded easily. I think it’ll be a different growth process for everyone because some people have a hard shell like me, and some are a little softer and aren’t used to rejection yet. But trying it out, learning the feeling of what rejection feels like, toughens the skin like nothing else.

Leave a Reply

