arizona recap

Hey y’all!

My apologies for breaking my one-post-a-week streak, I was doing so well! Finals stuck up on me and I ran out of time to schedule posts in advance. I’m currently writing to you with a Band-Aid on the bridge of my nose and ice on my forehead – I decided to go swimming in the hotel I’m staying in and swam head-first into the concrete wall 🙈 Hey, you can’t blame me! I had to swim with my eyes closed because I was wearing contact lenses. I learned my lesson there 😪

Today is officially the first day of spring quarter, which means spring break came and went! Over spring break, one of my sorority sisters invited me to go to Arizona with her and of course I said yes, because who doesn’t want to escape the Seattle rain? Here’s a little recap…

Day One

We left Seattle at about 9am and got to Phoenix around noon. My friend’s dad picked us up and we got In-N-Out for lunch (my fav!), and then headed back to the house. I have to say, Arizona’s landscape is super flat and you can see into the distance for miles; it’s so different from the PNW!

My friend has two dogs at her house, and it was definitely a treat to play with them all week. We just kind of relaxed by the pool for the entire day.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetIMG_5427Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetIMG_5458Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Days 2-4

We headed up to Lake Havasu City to one of the resorts for a couple of days since they have a boat that we could take onto the lake. I had never been on a boat before, and my friend’s dad even let me drive the boat for a bit. I also tried inner-tubing for the first time! Highly recommend one-piece swimsuits when doing that… It was super sunny and even though I didn’t tan as much as I wanted to, it was still an awesome experience.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

THE London Bridge

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetIMG_5491

Day 5

We headed back to Phoenix and relaxed more by the pool and also decided to go see Beauty and the Beast. It was my first time sitting at a theater with recliner seats – how come no one told me those were a thing until now?!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Day 6

My friend and I went to go see a jockey/horse-racing event because apparently it’s pretty big in AZ. We only went for 30 minutes though because it was actually pretty slow to watch. That day turned into a Nicholas Sparks movie marathon kind of day (in case you’re curious, we watched Safe Haven and The Best of Me). Then we had some Mexican food for dinner and ended up at a cowboy/bull-riding event! My only knowledge of bull-riding is from watching The Longest Ride, so it was really interesting seeing it with my own eyes. Of course, my friend and I were looking for our Scott Eastwood the entire time 😉

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Day 7

On our last full day spent in Arizona, my friend and I hiked up a little hill next to the neighborhood. It was super rocky but really easy – we spent 15 minutes hiking up, 20 minutes taking photos at the top, and 5 minutes going down (we took a shortcut). After the hike, we went to the Phoenix Zoo for a couple of hours! I hadn’t been to a zoo in ages so it was fun to feel like a kid again.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

That concludes my Arizona recap! Overall, I love the Arizona weather and atmosphere, but it’s a little slow-paced for me, and the weather makes me a lazy, lazy gal. It’s a fantastic place to relax for sure though – see you soon, AZ!

Leave a Reply

