winter blues: staying motivated

stay-motivated-graphic

Happy Monday!

It’s officially February and I’m sure we’re all dragging our feet to school/work every day. We’re in the heart of winter — I totally feel you. On most winter days, it’s hard to get out from underneath your bed covers and do adult things. I’m headed into midterms season, and it’s only going to get harder from here. So today, I’ve curated a list of ways to stay motivated and how to not procrastinate!

Get some sleep // I totally wish I knew where I heard this fact, but sleep actually helps with productivity, focus, and procrastination. If you think about it, you might have noticed it yourself. People who sleep for less than 6 hours a night will noticeably be less productive and procrastinate more than people who sleep for 6+ hours a night. I tried it myself, and sleep works wonders.

Make your bed every morning // This sounds silly, but make your bed every morning. By starting your day off with a small accomplishment (yes, making your bed is an accomplishment!), it’ll be easier to continually accomplish other tasks as you build up throughout the day.

Use a planner — actively. // I seriously don’t know what I’d do without my planner. I think it’s one of the largest contributing factors that keeps me motivated. I’ve seen people “use” planners, but not actively. I think once people consistently refer back to their planner, the sense of ambiguity will disappear and instead, a sense of urgency will take place, forcing you to become more productive.

More importantly, make plans, keep the planner packed! If you’re making plans with other people, it’s harder to laze around when someone else is keeping you accountable.

Make to-do lists! // If planners aren’t your thing or you just don’t feel like spending the money on a planner, that doesn’t mean you can’t be organized and find a way to stay motivated! You can make to-do lists on scraps of paper, printer paper, or a legal pad if you want to get fancy (just make sure you don’t lose it!).

For me, I love making to-do lists because the mere satisfaction of crossing off an item on my list is rewarding and it keeps me going. And be sure to break down your tasks into small ones, because once you cross off one thing, as simple as it may be, it’s easier to accomplish the next, and the next, and so forth. Before you know it, you’ll have finished an entire project!

Utilize sticky notes // I just recently started using sticky notes, but I’ve found them to be really helpful, especially if you write something that you REALLY need to get done and stick it somewhere that will annoy you, like a mirror, so that way you can get the task done and remove the sticky note for good.

Try a new location // If you’re a student like me and are constantly studying, try a new location to study in to keep things fresh, especially if you’re losing that motivation to study for exams. Make it fun – visit a coffee shop, try a new library… the options are endless.

What keeps you going in the winter time?

 

One thought on “winter blues: staying motivated

Leave a Reply

