weekend trip to LA

Hi everyone!

Can you believe that January is already coming to a close? This month has been extremely packed for me but the highlight of this month definitely has to be making a trip to Los Angeles during MLK weekend. The main reason I went down was because of my sorority’s leadership conference, but the other exec members and I definitely made an effort to spend an extra day just to explore LA.

The last time I went to LA was in my junior year of high school when my dance team competed in Nationals in Anaheim – that was also the last time I went to Disneyland. This time around, we were on the opposite end of LA, so we explored a different location!

We flew down on Friday the 13th (scary, I know!) in the morning and arrived in time for the conference to start.

img_5105img_5061img_5069

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

img_5103

The conference was held at a really nice hotel and the meals were provided for us. Unfortunately, a lot of us forgot to bring swimsuits and the weather was a little cloudy for poolside activities, but can we take a minute to appreciate the delicious food they provided?

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetimg_5104img_5107

The conference wasn’t really a training session – it was more an idea-generating forum with other schools on the west coast who are also part of the same chapter. It was really fun getting to know the other schools and hearing how they run their sorority chapter there.

After the conference, the rest of my exec board got to explore LA! Of course, we stopped by In-N-Out for lunch first after the conference ended. I’ve had In-N-Out multiple times before but for a few of the girls, it was their first time! I loved seeing their face glow up with excitement and satisfaction.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetimg_5072Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

After lunch, we headed over to some touristy stops. First up, LACMA!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Then we walked around to the Tar Pits for a bit. It’s crazy to think that these tar pits just come out of nowhere and they have to build a fence ASAP or there would be liability issues.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetimg_5100

After that, we headed to the Grove! This was one of my must-see locations, and it was glamorous, y’all. I made sure to stop by Sprinkles – I got the sprinkle flavor and it was DELICIOUS.

img_5099img_5071img_5070img_5073img_5074img_5092Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Crazy thing happened: I ran into one of my good friends from middle school at the Grove who I had seen only sporadically throughout high school. It’s a small world, y’all.

After the Grove, we drove to our Airbnb in Hollywood and then went out for dinner. We had the most interesting Uber driver: he was obviously entertaining us because he was telling us about how he drove around tons of celebrities (like Drake, Chloe Moretz, David Guetta). He was pretty funny though and I appreciate the effort he put into entertaining us in LA traffic.

We thought it was going to be difficult finding a place to get dinner that was affordable, but we ended up going to PokiNometry, a small little poke place on Hollywood Blvd! It was my first time trying poke bowls and it definitely won’t be my last. It was so tasty and not expensive at all for the amount of food we were getting.

Then we walked up and down Hollywood finding the stars. Hollywood at night is mesmerizing – I could have done that for hours!

img_5090img_5091

My last day spent in LA was an exciting one, y’all. Here’s the story:

A few days before I headed out to LA, one of my favorite Youtubers, Katherout, followed me on Instagram. We had talked a few times before on Twitter so it wasn’t a random follow. She’s a USC business student and since I was heading to LA, I figured why not ask if she’d be free for coffee. So I literally slid into her DMs on Instagram and we set up a brunch date! Y’all, no other Youtuber would do this – Katherine is so sweet!

So we met up at Urth Cafe in the arts district! I knew she was tall but I didn’t know she was tall – it was funny hugging her because I’m a good 10 inches shorter than she is. Katherine was so genuine and easy to talk to – and I made it onto her vlog! Ahh!!

After brunch, we stopped by one of the many angel wings in LA and just wandered the arts district. She was even kind enough to drive me back to my hotel. Y’all, this was a dream come true. But as hard as I tried not to fangirl in front of her, it was cool knowing and realizing that she’s just a student trying to adult. She felt more like a friend than an intimidating,  famous Youtuber.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetimg_5060img_5089

That pretty much concludes my LA trip! Even though I caught a cold at the beginning of the trip, it was most definitely a memorable trip. Now I just have to catch up on all of my studies!

LA, see ya soon!

Jen

One thought on “weekend trip to LA”

Leave a Reply

