seattle eats: japonessa & espresso vivace

Happy Monday!

Let me tell y’all, it feels GREAT to be back doing nothing during the summer.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Last week after I finished my exam, I met up with my friend Hannah – whom I haven’t seen since spring quarter got out – for some dinner and coffee! We decided to hit up Japonessa, since it’s one of Hannah’s favorite sushi places and I had been meaning to try it. Japonessa is a Japanese and Latin fusion restaurant, and it’s located just by Pike Place and the Seattle Art Museum. If you take a look at the menu, the items are all pretty pricey… unless you eat during Happy Hour.

Processed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 preset

So eat during Happy Hour we did! Happy Hour is all day until 6:30 pm, and so I ordered the Super Bad Boy (and no, I don’t have a “type”!). Pretty high-quality sushi, I have to say! Japonessa as a whole is super classy and had great waiters going around filling people’s waters and making sure we were doing okay without being overbearing.After that, we took a bus to Capitol Hill and sat down for coffee at Espresso Vivace! One of my friends had recommended this coffee shop to me, especially because it’s open late. I ordered an Iced Mocha and downed it in about 5 minutes – it was delicious! Hannah ordered the Iced Tea. Espresso Vivace is wonderful on a hot summer’s day because they have outdoor seating and they open their garage window/door thing so it’s welcoming.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

One of my favorite things to do is catch up with good friends over coffee after not seeing them for months. There’s a feeling of being pieced back together and it makes me so so happy! Hannah and I have a scary amount of things in common. To list a few: we had the same duvet covers from Target freshman year, follow the same blogs, read the same books… it’s uncanny, but also awesome.

We have some exciting things in the works to come in the fall at our campus, and I’m so excited to share with you guys soon! I’ve declared that Hannah’s my “work wife”, if you will, because we’re both extremely motivated, passionate about media (and aesthetics, let’s be honest here), and we just work well together overall. Talk about true #girlbosses.

Let me know if y’all like this little Seattle Eats segment – I’m thinking about posting more about food places around Seattle to recommend to you all throughout the year!

Talk to y’all soon,

Jen

 

 

One thought on “seattle eats: japonessa & espresso vivace”

  1. Yay the photos are showing up for me now! Love both these spots – espresso vivace is the first coffee shop that I went to do actual blogging work funnily enough. I also discovered Japonessa during my freshman year and I can’t even count the number of times I’ve gone back since. I love the HH prices and the ambiance – feels much more glam than the prices!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

