what i read in july

Hi friends!

I cannot believe it’s already August – where did this summer go?! I still have a good month and a half of summer, but… time is definitely cracking down.

Today I’m bringing you my July reads! July was a pretty good reading month since I finished Jane the Virgin early on and finally made time to read. I also cracked down on quite a lot of audiobooks at work (perks of having an office job, right?) Additionally, I was able to knock off 2 books from my summer reading list!

Slide1

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Goodreads

I first read this in May 2015 and loved it. I decided to reread it in June and July because I was finally going to get to the sequel! However, the second time around, I just didn’t enjoy it as much… it might’ve been the fact that I was simultaneously watching Jane the Virgin and so ACOTAR just didn’t captivate me as much as Netflix did, unfortunately.

2. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling | Goodreads Sped through this one on audiobook! Jim Dale will always be my favorite audiobook narrator. If you didn’t know, this one is my favorite Harry Potter book in the series! I just love the Tri-wizard Tournament (and the Yule Ball).

3. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas | Goodreads
This one was so disappointing for me; I definitely had my expectations WAY up there since this one has a 4.5+ rating on Goodreads. That’s insanely high, y’all. However, it was so LONG and it just felt like it dragged on for forever. I do have to say I loved reading about Rhys and Fehyre’s relationship develop, but other than that, I wasn’t invested into the fantasy aspect/conflict of the story like I should’ve been.

4. A Man Called Ove by Fredrick Backman | Goodreads
Loved this adult fiction! I’m so glad I finally got around to reading this one. I’ll have my full review up soon on this one, but just know that I loved it.

5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling | Goodreads
A lot of people say this is their favorite in the series, and I think this one is good but not as great as the other ones in the series!

6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling | Goodreads
No words needed!!

7. Blink by Malcolm Gladwell | Goodreads
I read Gladwell’s Outliers in June and really enjoyed it. Gladwell has a way with using stories to prove his points for sure! Blink was interesting but it wasn’t as captivating as Outliers; I realized that Gladwell discussed a lot of stuff I learned in my Psych 101 class this past year.

In short, I flew through a TON of hours of audiobooks, and did my fair share of reading physical books as well (the books I read this month were quite chunky!). I’m currently reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows now (don’t want to finish this series again!!)

What did you read in July? Did you also do a HP re-read for The Cursed Child that came out?!
3 thoughts on “what i read in july”

  1. ughhh summer has gone by so quickly for me too. a month left for me which EVERYONE keeps reminding me is still a significant amount of time, but from experience i know it only goes by too soon.

    JUST started watching jane the virgin season 2 after starting early june. this sounds so cheesy and weird, but after watching season 1, i felt so overwhelmed from all the emotions i got watching it that i couldn’t immediately start season 2. so i’ve only just started it and it’s so nice to be back in the jane universe! it is the ultimate comfort for me. so i definitely understand what you mean when you say netflix was more appealing than reading! that’s happening to me now with the unexpected everything. it’s so good and i love morgan matson… but jane the virgin trumps most things in my life, including reading!

    i wasn’t a huge fan of acotar but pretty much everyone i’ve spoken to has absolutely loved acomaf, even people who, like me, didn’t really enjoy acotar. i’m trying not to get my hopes up high because i don’t want to be disappointed, especially since i wasn’t even planning on continuing with the series until acomaf started getting near universally great reviews! which kinda intimidates me tbh so.. i might just sit this one out until the hype dies down a bit.

    loved reading your mini-reviews! and getting caught up on all your posts after i realized that i wasn’t subscribed to you on feedly after all?? 😦

    have a good august, jen! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

