new year’s resolution mid-year check

Hello!

We’re at the end of the week and I’m very sadly going back to school tomorrow. I know, I know, it’s summer but I’m willing to be productive and to keep learning! It’s been highly enjoyable spending time with family and just catching up on everything at home, but alas, I’m heading back to Seattle.

ny resolution check upBut let’s get to the main reason for this post: we’re halfway through the year (can you believe it?! Like how??) and it’s time to do a check-up on my New Year’s resolution. Back in January, I wrote a post about my “resolutions” for the year. Spoiler: I didn’t have any. Instead, I picked a word to set my year. That word, or rather, term, was jump in. I had chosen this term because I felt that I wasn’t really taking advantage of all the opportunities that were laid out in front of me. So I opted to try a lot of new things this year and most importantly, to not hesitate. 

Results? I like to think that jump in has been lingering in the back of my brain every day – everything I do, I’ve constantly been reminding myself to jump in and do it. I’m happy to announce I haven’t done anything reckless, thank goodness, but with this optimistic resolution comes things I do regret.

It’s weird because this kind of resolution isn’t something you can track any progress for. I think the easiest way to “check up” on my resolution is to list out a few things I’ve done that I feel, when I was deciding whether or not to do, made me jump in and go through with the task. The general question: has my lifestyle changed as a result of having this resolution? If yes, I’m right on track with my resolution. If no, then I need to keep working on it.

January // The first month of the new year – I need to try new things, of course! I decided to rush again for the business fraternity I had rushed for in the fall. I was hesitant at first because I was scared of rejection, and even though I didn’t get it again, I’m 100% glad I rushed again. I come out of the experience having met new people and developed new skills. The rejection was difficult, but there were other things going on that made January really exciting. January was the first time I met up with a local blogger, and I am forever grateful I took that opportunity to network and make new friends. Additionally, I attended a networking night hosted by my business school. If you know me, I shy away from large networking events because a) they’re exhausting, and b) recruiters hardly even glance at freshmen. Alas, I went, and I should realize I always come out of these events feeling accomplished.

February // February was full of coffee dates I proudly organized. I’m not one to initiate hangouts or social meet ups, but in February I was REALLY feeling it. I called up one of my really good friends from middle school whom I hadn’t seen during all of high school, and we caught up. It was amazing and she convinced me to go Greek in the fall! I also took the jump when I applied for a Britain study abroad program. Not a lot of freshmen get accepted because it’s so popular and competitive, but I’m glad I tried anyway. If anything, I know what I did wrong and know what I can improve on next time.

March // March was completely uneventful in terms of “jumping in”. Sad 😦

April // I participated in my first case competition! Case Competitions are a HUGE deal at my business school. Basically, it’s where you get together in a group of 4-5 other students, receive a business case you have to figure out, and present it to judges, usually who work for a big firm. There’s usually prize money and the winning teams get attention from the recruiters. I had been terrified of doing case comps because I despise presentations, but this one was moderate and I had a great team. Additionally, I attended a Christian club meeting that one of my good friends was in. Not going to go into much detail, but it was really fun and although I’m agnostic, I still had a great time and it was eye-opening. Finally, you all probably already know since I’ve talked about it so much, but I started dating someone in April. This is one of the things I should have thought through more than I did, and that’s all I’m saying about that.

May // Attended my first ever concert! I’m so glad I bit the bullet and bought the tickets. It was seriously about friggin’ time I went to my first concert. And it was amazing! I also went to my first college party this month, thanks to Greek Week. I can’t say I had the BEST time but it was definitely something. And like I decided in February, I took part in Greek Preview, which is where you get to sneak peek and meet some of the sorority houses before Formal Fall Rush. I also signed up to be a “buddy” for business exchange students coming to my school. This means I’ll be showing them the ropes of Seattle and making sure they’re adjusting to the city comfortably.

June // Starting a Youtube channel has been the biggest “jump in” for me this month. I’ve wanted to start a channel since early on in high school, but never did because of being a minor and privacy reasons. But I am so so glad I did.

The verdict? My lifestyle has definitely changed for the better. I’ve become better at saying “yes” to going out with friends; this is where I wanted to put my focus on. Introspecting, I’ve realized that I am far too much a “think now, act later” type of gal. And there’s nothing wrong with that – I just want to be more balanced and so have forced myself to move toward the “act now, think later” side of the spectrum.

I have tons of room for improvement towards this resolution, however. I have a good feeling that the latter half of 2016 is going to open up lots more opportunities for me to “jump in”.

How are you doing on your New Year’s resolutions?

3 thoughts on “new year’s resolution mid-year check”

Leave a Reply

