tell me three things

tell me three things

Hello and happy Friday! This week’s been pretty moderate, stress-wise, but extremely hot temperature-wise. I’m so excited to have a rainy weekend ahead of me…

I haven’t had time to read for fun lately what with all of my English and law class readings, but I finally finished Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum two nights ago. I had started Tell Me Three Things at the end of March, so it’s about time I finish this one.

And to be really honest, it was only okay. Usually when I read a book over the span of a month and don’t enjoy it very much, I attribute it to the fact that I didn’t devote my emotions enough toward the book because of the length of time it took to read. This time however, with Tell Me Three Things, I genuinely had issues with it. It was still good, but had its drawbacks.

I love the concept of this story, even though it does force you to suspend your disbelief for the entirety of the novel. Perhaps it was this idea, in which I couldn’t suspend my disbelief that made it so difficult for me to love the story. After Jessie’s mother passes away, she and her father move to LA because of her father’s new wife . This means a new state, a new school, and new friends. SN, an anonymous student who also attends her school, starts IMing her and helps her get through the school year.

There’s something endearing and mysterious about these anonymous people – it certainly reminded me of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – but Julie Buxbaum just didn’t execute it convincingly. Throughout the story, you’re supposed to be trying to figure out and guess who SN might be alongside Jessie, but I was 100% sure who it was halfway through the story, if not before. Whenever I read murder mysteries, I’m pretty okay with knowing who the killer is because I still have my doubts, but in Tell Me Three Things‘s case, it was so obvious that I was just reading to see if Buxbaum would surprise me. She didn’t, unfortunately.

There are other aspects that I found to be a bit irksome, such as the realistic and relatability of the high school. Buxbaum portrays these high school teens as typical Mean Girls style characters. I don’t know about you, but girls at my high school were not like that whatsoever. #realYA, y’all.

One thing I can say that really truly kept me reading was the romance. It’s pretty cute and there is a sense of caring and hope for Jessie to find happiness in her new environment. I’m not sure if it’s borderline pity I felt for her, but I definitely did care for her.

Tell Me Three Things was ultimately a bit disappointing, but still pretty cute. I can’t say I’d recommend it for everyone, especially if you’re looking for a realistic take on YA in high schools – but it’s fun nonetheless.

Have you read Tell Me Three Things? What did you think? Would you ever help out a new kid at your school anonymously?
One thought on “tell me three things

Leave a Reply

