spring 2016: my classes

Spring Quarter Classes

Hi everyone!

Back in the fall, I told you about the classes I was taking and so I thought I’d let you know what classes I’m taking in the spring right now! Forecasting for classes are really intense and fun in college because depending on where you go to college, you might have to fight tooth and nail to get the classes you want. I know some people at my school who will buy people meals in order to trade into the class they want. Crazy.

My schedule didn’t go as planned, but I still figured something out. Without further ado…

Ballet 3

Back in January, I wrote a post about reconnecting with old passions, which is dance in my case. I loved taking ballet so much last quarter that I’ve decided to continue with the level 3 series with the same professor. Last quarter I took ballet three times a week, but in order to keep the same professor, I could only take the one that meets twice a week because that’s all he was teaching. So worth it though, and an easy 4.0 šŸ˜‰

Prose Fiction

Y’all, I am SO excited to be taking a Reading Prose Fiction class! There was actually different types of RPF classes, but I just chose the one with the best professor ratings, and it happens to be Exploring Grief in the 20th Century in the North America. I’ve heard ofĀ The Road by Cormac McCarthy, and I’m SO stoked to read this post-apocalyptic. I’m hoping it’s a bit likeĀ Station Eleven? Maybe?

I’ve also heard ofĀ Never Let Me GoĀ by Kazuo Ishiguro, which I am also very stoked to read because I’ve heard the movie and book are amazing! I’ve heard it’s similar to Robyn Schneider’sĀ Young Adult, Extraordinary Means, which I enjoyed.

Lastly, we’re readingĀ House at Sugar Beach by Helene Cooper, which I’ve never heard of. After reading the synopsis though, I think I’m going to love it. It’s a memoir about a Liberian-born woman who escapes to America. I think there’s going to be a lot of feels in this one.

Intro to Law

My last class is Introduction to Law. I know what you must be thinking: “Jen, aren’t you a business major? Why ever would you take a law class?” Well, let me tell you. I DIDN’T WANT THIS. This class is actually a requirement for all business majors. And I. Am. Terrified. I know approximately zero things about law. Pray for me – I’m going to need it.

This quarterĀ is already going to be difficult, even though I’m taking lessĀ credits than I have in the past two quarters. My fiction and law class containĀ tons of readings –Ā I have a feeling I’ll be spending a lot of time deciphering those law readings especially.

Have you read any of the books I’ll be reading in my fiction class? What are some good ways to stay on top of a law class?

2 thoughts on “spring 2016: my classes”

  1. I read Never Let Me Go for HS Freshman English and I thought it was pretty good, thought not at ALL what I expected. It’s labeled as science fiction but beyond one element that ends up being pretty inconsequential it really isn’t sci-fi… At all. It’s funny to me that you’re scared by the Intro to the Law class because out of all you’re taking that’s probably the one I would be most interested in! I am SOO far from wanting to be any sort of law/english major but I think it’s helpful and interesting to know the basics of law and how to read law documents. I’m that girl who ACTUALLY reads the Terms & Conditions of everything so… I suppose it’s a bit different of an interest than most people have.

    Like

  2. Pingback: never let me go

Leave a Reply

