*spoiler free* thoughts on Lady Midnight

Hi! I’m back from my spring hiatus and ready for spring quarter. I revamped my blog (… yes, again) and I’m in love with it. It’s crazy what a new design can do for your motivation! Today I have my spoiler-free thoughts of Lady Midnight, which I finished just last week. I hope you enjoy!

IMG_0533

Add to Goodreads

Lady Midnight. Oh, you.

Ever since I finished reading The Mortal Instruments series at the end of 2014, I had been dying for more Shadowhunters books. I knew there were the novellas to look forward to, but I needed the fat, juicy novels. When Cassandra Clare announced that she was writing Lady Midnight, I reacted very positively, contrary to a lot of other opinions. I don’t care that Clare is still writing about the Shadowhunter world. To be quite frank, I could stay in this world forever.

I was lucky enough to have a friend who had received an ARC of Lady Midnight for review (you know who you are, thank you SO MUCH.) As excited as I was to read Lady Midnight, it took me a full 30 days to read. I was in the middle of midterms and final exams, so I was just reading chapter by chapter each night (mind you, it’s a 700 page book). Come spring break, and I fled through the latter half of the book.

And it was, unsurprisingly, amazing.

IMG_0544

Lady Midnight follows Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn, five years after City of Heavenly Fire. To be really honest, these two characters weren’t 100% fresh in my brain; nevertheless, I didn’t feel like it was a hindrance to my enjoyment of the novel. Clare thrusts readers right back into the Shadowhunter world, but this time in modern-day, sunny Los Angeles.

Speaking of Los Angeles, let’s talk about the setting first! The majority of the Shadowhunter novels took place in cold, dreary cities (New York City and London), so the change in location was really refreshing, not to mention the ocean and beaches. I liked that the L.A. Institute felt familiar and that Clare kept some semblance in Lady Midnight.

Onto my favorite aspect of Lady Midnight: the characters. Clare always manages to write these pained, multi-faceted, courageous characters that I undoubtedly end up falling in love with.

  • Emma Carstairs: she felt like a mix between Clary and Tessa, maturity-wise. She’s smart and has the air of intelligence, but not as old and wise as Tessa. She still has a lot to learn and experience, especially with her feelings.
  • Julian Blackthorn: Clare seems to only know to write angsty teenage boys with tumultuous feelings, but that’s just how I like them! However, what I loved the most about Julian was his love for all five of his siblings. Never have I read about a brother who so fiercely loved.
  • Cristina Rosales: a new addition! Clare shaped her into a very loving and loyal friend – I definitely want to get to know her better in the coming books!

Clare’s not just good at developing her characters. The relationships between each one are complex and not describable with a single descriptor. I can’t wait to read more about these characters and how the relationships grow and change.

Lastly, the plot kept me on the edge of my seat (or bed, considering my reading spot!). Clare manages to stir up more trouble in that plot pot of hers, creating a riveting story with tons of mystery, lies, and betrayal (oh, lots of betrayal). I also must mention that there is a cliffhanger at the end of the story that leaves with a ?!?!??!! mindset.

Overall, I’m incredibly satisfied with Lady Midnight. From the tugs of my heartstrings to the chills down my spine, Lady Midnight packed an emotional punch. I know these characters will grow more on me than they already have, and I won’t be able to let them go after the finale.


Have you read Lady Midnight yet? What did you think? Did you like the familial aspect?

2 thoughts on “*spoiler free* thoughts on Lady Midnight

  1. The characters were definitely my favorite part of Lady Midnight as well! Mark was hilarious and my favorite and I loved Cristina too. I’m not as familiar with the shadowhunters world, or at all familiar really, because if I have read any of the books before I don’t really remember any of them. But I did really enjoy this book and it was fun to be a part of everyone reading it as soon as it was out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

