i’ve got that harry potter feeling

Hey y’all, happy Thursday!

It’s almost Friday and the weekend (thank goodness!) and I’m actually supposed to be studying for my final exams that are next week, but I’m not in the right mindset at the moment. Why, might you ask?

If you’re not aware, Freeform was having a little Harry Potter Weekend this past weekend so of course, I had to join in (they have these movie marathons all the time, but I never watch them. This time, I did.)

Let me give you a little history about me + Harry Potter: I grew up reading the books, and reread them as audiobooks during freshman and sophomore year of high school, and like most other booklovers, love HP. However, I’m not a die-hard fan like some – I don’t have a Pottermore account or anything like that. But what does happen to me are these Harry Potter Obsession Phases – which is what’s happening to me right now.

I watched Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire this past weekend (my favorite movie out of the series) and afterward, I watched Order of the Phoenix, and then Half-Blood Prince… and now I’m down the rabbit hole. You know that moment when you just realize you’ve fallen head over heels in love with Harry Potter – again? I was watching the movies and my heart just squeezed and it made me realize that I am so, so, privileged and lucky and grateful to have grown up with Harry Potter and to have amazingly relatable characters and a world that is comforting whenever I need it.

Now that I’m in deep, I want to reread the books, get my hands on the audiobooks (narrated by Jim Dale. If you haven’t listened to him narrate the story, you need to), and rewatch all of the movies, and rinse and repeat 10 more times. I don’t want to read anything else, watch anything else – basically, it’s consuming.

So, that’s where I am right now. Great timing, right? Just before finals…

3 thoughts on “i’ve got that harry potter feeling

  1. Haha, I know exactly how you feel. Although I think I would have to start watching from the beginning! I’ve been meaning to reread HP this year, but I know that once I start it’s going to totally take over and I’m not going to be able to do anything else for like a week whilst I get through them all!
    Don’t worry, you’re not the only one! We can get through this together! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

