Recent Reads | January & February

Recently Read

Time for a reading update!

Since 2016 has started, I haven’t found a lot of time to read, and I haven’t been in the mood to listen to audiobooks much. This equates to a low number of books read so far in almost two months. And this also means that I haven’t really been writing reviews! In fact, I think my reviews from now on will be in mini-versions in these “Recently Read” posts.

Also, I just realized that I haven’t read a contemporary this year yet – must do so soon!

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand // Funnily enough, I read this one wayy back in the day when I first started book-blogging in 2011. I remember really loving it, and so I decided to binge-listen to the entire trilogy on audio in January! I loved this one just as much as the first time I read it, and the audio was great. I was Team Tucker the first time around, and I was again the second time around. I seriously love Hand’s take on paranormal angels & demons. (I will never tire of paranormal YA. Just leave me alone). 4.5 out of 5 stars!

Hallowed (Unearthly #2) by Cynthia Hand // I don’t have much to say about this one because it’s a sequel, but it definitely did not suffer second-book-syndrome! 4.5 out of 5 stars!

Boundless (Unearthly #3) by Cynthia Hand // I was actually really surprised with this one because it’s set in college so it’s not technically a YA anymore, but I loved the transition into this new setting. The ending was perfect and it solidified my love for this wonderful trilogy! 4.5 out of 5 stars!

The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine // I’m so embarrassed to say this, but I actually started this one over my winter break and finished it in mid-January-ish. I have no idea why it took me so long, because it was an amazing fantasy read! I was engrossed the entire time, and the romance was just what I needed. It reminded me a lot of Princess of Thorns, another fantasy that I loved. I need the sequel to this one ASAP. 4.5 out of 5 stars!

The Selection (The Selection #1) by Kiera Cass // I’ve been pushing this series back for so long, and in January I decided to finally get on this series! I listened to it on audiobook and while it was highly entertaining, I can’t say I’ll be continuing the series. It just felt like there was no important end-goal and the love triangle wasn’t one I could easily get excited about. I totally understand the hype for this series though! 3.25 out of 5 stars!

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows, and Brodi Ashton // Y’all, my first favorite of 2016! This book is HUUGE and it took me around three weeks to read, but it was worth it, let me tell ya. It’s a retelling of King Edward and Lady Jane Grey, but with a super fun fantasy twist. My favorite part was probably the narration of this story: comical and unique! These three authors work in conjunction and made serious magic. The characters were all so well developed and I couldn’t help but loving the romance. Unfortunately, this one’s a standalone, but if these three authors ever get together again, you can bet I’ll be devouring it! My Lady Jane will be out on June 7th, 20165 out of 5 stars!

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton // I had such high expectations of this one, but they were not met. One thing I can say is that I FLEW through this one – only took me three days! – but it was just lacking overall. I got An Ember in the Ashes and The Wrath and the Dawn vibes, but way toned down, in a bad way. I needed more character development, more world-building, and more magic. There’s definitely a case of insta-love, too. We get some great action in the end, but not enough for me to want to read book two. Rebel of the Sands will be out on March 8th, 2016. 3.5 out of 5 stars!

So there you have it! What I’ve read recently. I’m currently reading The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith (out March 2016), but Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare is calling my name…

What have you read recently?

6 thoughts on “Recent Reads | January & February”

Leave a Reply

