For Fans of Sherlock Holmes

A Study in Charlotte

Let me tell you a little secret: I watched Sherlock over winter break, going into it with no prior knowledge of the original classic story behind Sherlock Holmes. I watched it because my sister raved about it, and I love a good edge-of-your-seat television show.

I could talk about Sherlock all day, but in a few words, I’m obsessed with Sherlock Holmes in general. I was having serious Sherlock withdrawals during the days following my completion of the show, when I decided to pick up A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro.

For starters, A Study in Charlotte is a modern-day retelling of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson’s adventures. The difference: we follow main characters Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson, both descendants of the original Holmes and Watson, all at a boarding school! (If you don’t know the original story or haven’t watched Sherlock, you can definitely still read A Study in Charlotte, but it might not be as fun and the references won’t make as much sense.) I was beyond excited when I read the summary for this book, because it sounded like just what I needed.

And indeed, it was. A Study in Charlotte is thrilling, fun, and perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes. The fangirl in me couldn’t stop reading and nodding along to all of the parallels to the original story.

What else do I love about A Study in Charlotte, you ask?

            + Jamie’s Perspective // I was surprised to see it told from Jamie’s perspective in first person, but it worked out perfectly. His admiration for Charlotte was adorable!

            + The Mystery // I love the way Cavallaro blended in a few of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s original tales in A Study in Charlotte. Clever, thrilling, and well-done.

            + Parallels & Unique Touches // While there are a ton of parallels to the original Sherlock story, I loved seeing Cavallaro add her own touches that really makes it her story. Additionally, I could tell the appreciation and adoration for Sherlock Cavallaro has.

            + Setting // It’s set at a freaking boarding school, you guys. That’s my favorite kind of setting!

            + Charlotte’s Character // Since “Sherlock” is a teenage girl in this version, Cavallaro had to make her a tad different from the original, for obvious reasons. I like Charlotte’s complexity and differences from the original.

I’m more than happy to see that this is going to be a series, or at least it’s not a standalone! I can’t get enough of Charlotte & Jamie, that’s for sure. I also think I liked A Study in Charlotte because it reminded me a lot of Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On in the way it’s written, so if you’ve read that and loved it, you’ll probably love A Study in Charlotte!

If I haven’t convinced you enough to pick up A Study in Charlotte, I don’t know what will. I’m a huge fan of this retelling of Sherlock; even if you’re not familiar with the story, give it a spin! You’d be in for a fun mystery anyways.

3 thoughts on “For Fans of Sherlock Holmes

Leave a Reply

