How to Be Inspirational

HowToBeInspirational

Someone inspires me everyday. It could be someone I’m following on social media, or someone who I personally know in real life. No matter the source, you are surrounded by inspiring people everyday.

For me, that begs the question: am I inspirational? If not, how can I be? If I am, why? It wasn’t until recently that I came to the realization how people are inspirational and why people have told me I’m inspirational sometimes.

Let me tell you a two stories. The first happened not too long ago one night when I was in my dorm room talking with a few friends. We had somehow gotten around to discussing what we were doing to stay fit in college. Earlier, one of my friends had said that working out “takes up a lot of time”, and I contributed by saying, “I honestly don’t mind going to the gym and working out on the elliptical 3 times a week, but I have to be listening to an audiobook or it would be, you’re right, a waste of time.”

That’s when one of my friends said to me, “Wow, you’re so inspirational.” Whether he meant it lightly or not, he said it in a meaningful way. I was honestly surprised at this compliment because I hadn’t even realized I was being “inspirational”.

And that’s the secret, my friends.

People who are inspirational don’t set out with the goal of being inspirational. Whatever it is, they do it because they love it. I listen to audiobooks while I work out because I love the feeling of being productive and multi-tasking I didn’t set out to be productive because I wanted to by inspirational – this was purely for my own benefit. Recently, I’ve learned that the key to “being inspirational” is to do what you love.

Just a few days ago, I publicized this blog on my Facebook page, and I got an influx of overwhelmingly sweet comments, saying how I was “inspirational”. That’s when I truly understood. These people who gave me these comments could evidently see how passionate I was about blogging and because of that, that was inspirational to them.

One of the most inspiring people (in my eyes) is Sophia Amoruso, founder of Nasty Gal and author of #GIRLBOSS. She didn’t get a full education, yet she’s now a successful CEO, entrepreneur and author. She didn’t start off thinking, “I want to be inspirational.” More than likely, she just wanted to sell some clothes. Fashion was what she loved, and she set out to make a living by selling it. She not only inspires me, but also other women to be their own #girlbosses.

So the verdict? There’s nothing wrong with being inspirational. But don’t do something because you think people will look up to you. Do something because you love it. That’s when people will take notice of your passion and view you as an inspiration.

Who inspires you?

// image source
6 thoughts on “How to Be Inspirational

  1. Wow, Jen I love this post SO SO SO MUCH. LIKE SO MUCH.

    I’ve been thinking a lot about inspirational people. I think we’re alike in the fact that we’re both inspired by a lot of people and a lot of things. I’m always inspired by people my age who are kicking butt, and other people who are hustling to make their dreams happen. People DOING things inspires me so flipping much.

    And that’s why I 100% agree with you. The people I look up to are just going out to live their lives, to accomplish their dreams. Their ambition isn’t necessarily to inspire others, it’s to live the lives the way they want to. I don’t think ‘being inspirational’ should be a main goal for someone, although I would love to be inspirational to me one day.

    I’m also like you in that I need to be productive every moment! Now when I’m driving, I’m listening to a podcast. I’m typing this comment as I’m waiting for my most recent blog post to publish- it’s something to fill the time instead of staring at the screen.

    Productive people inspire me so much, ahh. (That’s actually why when you Tweeted #girlboss at me, I was so ecstatic! That’s the first time someone’s ever called me a girl boss and I take that with pride :D)

    I’d love to see a post next about specific people who inspire you… I’m definitely curious!

    Amazing, amazing post <333

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Aneeqah! I’m pretty picky as to who exactly inspires me – there’s probably less than 5 who truly, truly get my brain gears moving every day. I’ll think about it!

      Like

  2. I love this post! I personally think passion + love for what your doing is really the root of any kind of success. If you do what you really love I believe (and hope) that you’ll be able to make a living doing it, and will be good at it, and your passion will inspire other people. Anyways, why live your life doing things you hate doing all of the time? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

