My 2016 “Resolutions”

Slide1

Hello! (It’s me).

Tomorrow is 2016! I seriously cannot believe it. They say that time flies when you’re older, but c’mon, I’m only 19!

That being said, let’s talk about resolutions. At the beginning of 2015, I wrote up a post about my resolutions for the year. Let’s end that conversation right there; in other words, I didn’t follow through with my resolutions very much at all. I was going strong for the first couple of months, but then it really kind of died out as I lost track of my resolutions. That’s what typically happens.

But it’s the New Year, and I want to do something better, and obviously making yearly resolutions didn’t work for me. Luckily, I stumbled upon this blog post written by Maxie McCoy (LOVE her stuff, by the way), and it changed my perspective on resolutions. It’s so well-written, and it really resonated with me. I love Maxie’s idea of picking a word to set the year. In the blog post, she says, “Even when you’re not consciously thinking of it, it sets a tone of who you are and how you show up.” I thought about my word for 2016, and I’ve decided upon jump in.

Jump in technically is a term – but this is the word that I want to define my 2016. I’m in college now and it’s all about trying new things. I’ve held back more than I should during my first term, so I really want to do all the things in 2016. Examples:

  • go set up an appointment with my adviser so I can start planning study abroad!
  • make plans to hang out with friends who I won’t have class with anymore. Go out of my comfort zone and don’t stay in and read all the time.

With jump in as my word of 2016, I hope I really branch out and just jump in to many exciting events and activities.

That’s one way I’m making a “resolution”. But also, since starting college, I did learn one thing about myself: I’m someone who breaks down huge tasks into little parts. And without even knowing, I make to-do lists every day and in a way, that is making goals – the only difference here is that my goals are huge, yes, but I break them down to little parts that are more manageable and easier to focus on.

I bought a new planner for 2016, and I am more than excited to use it to make all of the lists (I’ve upgraded to a 8.5 x 11 size planner! Blog post coming soon on that..) and cross off everything on my to-do list every day.

So what are your resolutions for 2016? Are you like me and don’t really fulfill your yearly resolutions? Are you more goal-oriented like me? What’s your word for 2016?

// image source
9 thoughts on “My 2016 “Resolutions”

  1. JEN I LOVE THIS POST.

    I’ve always been wary about doing the whole ‘choose a word’ thing for a year (for some reason, honestly, I thought it was just so hipster lol) but after thinking about it more, I’ve realized that it would be really nice to have a defined theme for the year, something I keep bringing myself back to (I also love what Maxie said in that post!).

    I LOVE your phrase- jump in is just so perfect! Sometimes the best of opportunities are right in our face, but we just need to take that leap of faith. I know you’ll be super successful in college, and keeping this phrase in the back of your mind is going to help you make it for sure ❤

    Like I said before, my phrase is 'do the work'. Not sure if I'm going to write a blog post about it or not, but I think it's going to help me really focus and actually be productive instead of THINKING about being productive, lol.

    Here's to a fabulously adventurous 2016!! <33

    Like

  2. THIS IS AN ABSOLUTELY LOVELY POST. I DIDN’T REALIZE PEOPLE CHOSE WORDS FOR A YEAR AND THAT’S SO COOL and I love yours and I hope you have all the luck with that ❤ Jumping in seems so hard sometimes, butI'm absolutely certain that you'll have a blast by going wherever your gut leads you! (And I suppose if I had a word for the year, it'd just be STRIVE. Especially with so many important things happenings this year with all the ap classes and studying for the SAT gah.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nikki you totally got the SAT thing down, stop stressing about it!! I love “strive”, I think it’s a great way to stay motivated throughout the last few years of highschool, to really push yourself to the finish line!

      Like

  3. I love this post!!! I never even thought about using a word to describe my goal for 2016…that’s so unique! I love love love it! It sounds like you have a lot of awesome things happening in 2016, so I hope that everything works out and you have a great year! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

