Looking Forward to 2016

Slide1

*image source*

Happy almost-end-of-2015!

I say this every year it seems, but 2015 flew by SO. FAST. It seems like just yesterday when I was cuddled up with #Girlboss while my sisters watched the 2015 ball drop on television. It seemed like just yesterday when I was committing to my university. Honestly, where did 2015 even go?

Despite denying the fact that 2015 is indeed over, I am so excited for 2016. 2016 is going to big, y’all. I just have a good feeling about it. Today, I wanted to share with you all why I’m looking forward to 2016, somewhat in chronological order-ish?

1. Shadowhunters TV show

This is kind of small and totally random, but the Shadowhunters TV is going to be airing on January 12th on Freeform! I’m a huge fan of The Mortal Instruments series, and seeing all of the teasers and photoshoots on Twitter from the cast is getting me more and more pumped for the show! Crossing my fingers it’ll be good.

2. Taking my first business class

If you didn’t know, I’m already accepted into the business school at my university, and I’m leaning toward accounting as my business option. However, I can’t really declare my major yet until I’ve taken business classes! Starting in spring quarter, I’m going to dive into my business classes, which I’m excited and scared for. The first accounting class is, I’ve heard, the “weed out” class, which means that usually after people take it, they change to a new major instead of accounting. What if it’s too difficult for me? What if I don’t click with it? We’ll see, I guess…

3. Finishing my first year of college

In June 2016, I’ll be done with my first year of college! That’s mind-blowing. Hopefully I’ll have many tips and tricks for you all by then 🙂

4. Working retail at B&N or Nordstrom

This is a huge IF. If I go home for the summer, if I don’t get an internship anywhere, if I don’t study abroad… I want to apply to work retail at Barnes & Noble or Nordstrom! Both places seem so so fun, and I know people who’ve worked at both! I already have a job on campus at the moment, but making a little extra cash wouldn’t hurt. 🙂

5. Going to London? Maybe?

My university and business school has these things called Exploration Seminars, which are these short, 4-week study abroad programs that take place right before school starts. They have an exploration seminar that travels to London, and guys. I’m dying to go to London. Me and my roommate are looking into it and while the application process is pretty competitive, we have our fingers crossed!

6. Moving into an apartment

As a sophomore in college, most students move into apartments instead of living in the dorms. I’m opting to move into an apartment on-campus so it’s closer and safer, albeit more expensive. However, apartments!! Adulting!! It’s becoming a thing!

7. Turning 20? What?!

Speaking of adulting… in November 2016, I’M ENTERING MY TWENTIES OMG. I feel so, entirely old. I still feel like I’m 10 half the time. Literally how? I’ve been alive for 2 full decades? I’m just ???

8. Declaring a major… hopefully

By the end of 2016, I definitely want to have declared a major in business after taking a few different types of classes. It’ll be so exciting! I’ll (kind of) know what I’ll be doing for the rest of my life!

Those are just a few things I’m excited about in 2016 – of course, other events and things will pop up out of nowhere that I have no insight on. Let  2016 surprise me!

What are you looking forward to in 2016?

 

12 thoughts on “Looking Forward to 2016”

  1. Let’s hope that 2015 lasts at least a bit longer. 🙂
    I’m ridiculously excited about the Shadowhunters TV series, too! That’s one thing I’m SO looking forward to. And here’s to working in bookstores – paradise on earth. 🙂 (Even though I’d spend more than I earned.)

    Like

    1. Yes! Shadowhunters looks awesome so far! And working at a bookstore would be so heavenly and I’d honestly be spending my paycheck on the merch as well 😉

      Like

  2. I’m excited for Shadowhunters as well! I hope it is good. I just took accounting and I didn’t find it too hard. It’s a lot of work though and a lot of terms to remember. I’m sure you’ll do great and if not, at least you know before you made it your major.

    Like

  3. oooh sounds like 2016 is going to be a fun year for you jen! next year, i’ll be finishing up my junior year and starting senior year (when i first typed this, i thought i was going to be graduating next year and GOT REALLY FREAKED OUT because that is much too soon than i was prepared for? but i actually just miscounted so it’s all good haha) so hopefully you’ll have tips for me for that as well! good luck with your classes, APPLYING TO LONDON OMG THAT IS SOMETHING I SO WANT TO DO IN COLLEGE TOO GOOD LUCK!!, finding an apartment and declaring a major. OH, and also turning 20! wishing you the BEST 2016 jen!

    Like

    1. Ahaha graduation is an exciting thing!! It’ll be here in no time 😉 I’d be happy to give you some tips and tricks when the time comes!! YES LONDON I NEED TO VISIT THE UK. Thanks for the good wishes, Annie! ❤

      Like

  4. So excited for Shadowhunters! I’m crossing my fingers that they did a good job with the story. Going to London would be amazing. Hopefully both you and your roommate get in!
    Congrats on (almost) finishing your first year of college Jen!
    Can’t wait to see what happens in 2016 🙂

    Like

  5. i’m finally catching up on comments and YAY this all sounds so exciting!! you’re living the uni lifeeeee. my sister actually majored in business as well AND went to london to study abroad. what a happy coincidence! it’s so weird and crazy how fast time is moving. adulting!! what is life!! i wish i were ten again.

    Like

    1. WHAT that’s so cool that your sister majored in business too and ahh London!! I’ll have to ask her about it or something ahah. seriously what is adulting??! Thanks for stopping by, Xan ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

