Thoughts on… Passenger

Slide1

Hi everyone!!

Today I’m going to be talking about the VERY hyped Passenger by Alexandra Bracken! I was dying to get my hands on this book early (thanks so much Xan for letting me borrow it!). I have read Bracken’s The Darkest Minds and Never Fade, and I thought they were great dystopians, but I’m definitely not the biggest Bracken fan out there. I was really curious to see if I would like Passenger more. I mean, it’s time-travel and location-travel, how could I not?

The way Bracken opened up the story was really interesting and my attention was immediately captured. I loved reading from Etta’s perspective and seeing how she gets thrown into Nicholas’s world of time-travel. However, while interesting, it was also extremely confusing. Any reader can tell that Bracken’s world is pretty complex and in my situation, it was a “it’s not you, it’s me” situation. Bracken didn’t info-dump exactly, but the reader certainly has to be carefully reading the parts where she is describing the world and conflict at hand, or the reader might miss it and be confused for the rest of the story. For me, I was a little impatient and just wanted to get to the good part so I think I missed some important chunks of information. I feel that if I reread Passenger a second time around, I would understand the world a little better.

Other than, Passenger was awesome. Nicholas and Etta fall in love a wee bit quicker than I would have liked, but it’s a romance that was believable and really genuine by the end. It was one of those situations where you just know Nicholas and Etta work and click like that. The majority of the story is solely about Nicholas and Etta, so I would have loved to see more character development in the supporting characters as well. I do love that Bracken focused on a lot of racial issues because Nicholas is darker skinned; Bracken didn’t just say he was dark-skinned and leave it at that – Bracken realistically discussed the issues that came with being darker-skinned, like slavery in the 1700s.

My favorite part is probably the time-travel and travelling to different places in the world! Bracken chooses more obscure places and time periods, which I loved. It gives the reader a sense that Bracken did her research and it was really refreshing to read about new places in new times.

I’m still a little confused about what happened at the end, but nevertheless, I’m excited to see what the sequel has to offer. If you ask me, I’ll definitely be rereading Passenger before the sequel comes out. Passenger is a carefully crafted novel that requires the reader’s full attention, or the tiniest – yet significant – detail will be neglected. Overall, it’s an exciting and thrilling story about two people on the run looking for a treasured item. Romance junkies: get ready to swoon. Passenger didn’t fully live up the hype, but it comes close!

Will you be picking up Passenger? Have you already read it? What did you think?

Jen

7 thoughts on “Thoughts on… Passenger

  1. I’m reading this now and am struggling with it. I’m a little over a quarter of the way through and just am not really into it so far. The writing seems a little disjointed to me and it’s confusing. I’m determined to finish it, though, since it’s an ARC.

    Like

  2. I really want to read this when it’s released! I haven’t read a Braken book before, but I’d like to because all of her books seem right up my street. I’m not usually a huge fan of romance, so I’m not really sure on that part, but I love time and location travel. Is it quite similar to A Thousand Pieces of You? It sounds a bit similar, and I wasn’t a huge fan of that either.

    Great review. Thanks for sharing!
    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Like

    1. Hmm, I’d say it’s a bit like A Thousand Pieces of You, which I loved, so I’m not sure you’ll like Passenger. It has less romance than Claudia Gray’s books, but it’s definitely still there. Best of luck to you with Passenger!

      Like

  3. I’m really looking forward to this one since I adored Bracken’s debut and time-travelling, not to mention intricate world-building, is exactly up my alley. I’m excited to pick this one up so despite your few reservations, I’m confident that I’m really going to be enjoying this one. Gorgeous review, Jen! 🙂

    Like

    1. I feel that you would really enjoy this one as well, Keertana! The issues I had were definitely more of my reservations, ones that I don’t you think would happen to you. I hope you read Passenger soon and enjoy!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

