What My Life Would Be Like Without Blogging

Slide1

Hey y’all!

 

Happy Black Friday! I hope y’all are having a wonderful time with family – my family and I finished Thanksgiving dinner and watched Inside Out and then talked all night until 2:30am. We just had so much to talk about after our first quarter at college! My family isn’t a huge Black Friday enthusiast, it’s too overwhelming for us!

 

Despite not putting up a post about giving my thanks, I undoubtedly am thankful for so many things. But today I thought I would share what my life would be like without blogging, something that I am extremely and incredibly grateful for.

 

My good friend Willa over at Willa’s Ramblings recently discussed this on her blog, and I definitely want to tell my own story as well.

 

I started blogging in August of 2011 (you can view my full blogging experience here) as an incoming high school freshman. At the time, I was entering a high school where most of my middle school friends weren’t attending. I was pretty much getting a fresh start. I blogged throughout most of my freshman year, and it was tough. I was on the varsity dance team, but the girls just weren’t really my type of people that I could be with 100% of the time. That’s where blogging and blogging friends came in. I met the majority of my good friends now my freshman year. (Shoutout to Grace, Vy, Willa, and Aneeqah!)

 

Starting blogging as a 14 year old and now as an 19 year old blows my mind. I’ve had multiple times where I felt that school was too overwhelming and I just didn’t have time to blog anymore and almost quit. There were periods of time where I quit for like a few weeks, but realized that I simply cannot live without it.

 

Let’s play out a scenario where blogging was never a thing for me: I would have been so lonely freshman year, doing school and trying to fit in as best as I could with my dance team friends. I probably would have devoted a lot more time and energy into dance, and possibly would have even continued it my senior year (I quit as a senior, if y’all didn’t know!). I wouldn’t have had those moments of anticipation from my inbox, waiting to get that approval from a Netgalley title. I would have gotten a lot more sleep, because God knows I stayed up late reading and scrambling to put up posts for the blog. I probably would have done better on my SATs if I had spent my summers leading up to the tests studying and doing practice tests instead of reading book after book and writing posts.

 

But all of that? I wouldn’t trade for losing blogging in a heartbeat. Blogging’s benefits have outweighed those opportunity costs in so many ways (goodness, econ class is getting to me). Blogging’s impact on my hobby, how I interact with people, and strengthening my skills with technology have increase so much and has overall made me a happier person. I simply cannot imagine what my life would be like without bloggingMore importantly, I would not have met any of you guys, some of which I call closer friends than my friends at school.

 

Imagining a teenage life without blogging is unfathomable for me – there’s like a void and abyss. I feel that blogging has developed a personality that I am truly grateful for.

 

For you all who have been blogging for a long time – what would your life be like without it? Is it as mind-blowing for you as it is for me?
5 thoughts on “What My Life Would Be Like Without Blogging

  1. It’s hard to imagine what my life would be like without blogging. I’ve been at it since was about 11 years old, and now I’m 27. Sometimes I wonder if maybe I missed some connections with people in real life, but would I’m not sure if I would really want to trade all of the relationships with my online pals for that. I mean, there are people that I’ve connected with through the interwebs when I was 13 or 14 years old, and we STILL keep in touch!

    Of course, I wasn’t book blogging this entire time. It’s only recently that I discovered my niche, and I love it. It’s some I wish I would have discovered when I was younger. It’s such an amazing community and the opportunities are so exciting!

    Like

    1. Wow!! You’ve been blogging for so long, Jackie! That’s super impressive. I’m glad you found book blogging as your niche in the online community. But you’re so right about the relationships that are built online. It’s crazy that you still keep in touch with them! I hope to maintain that relationship with my current blogger friends as well. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. It is strange how easily something becomes a part of you, isn’t it? It’s like.. I never thought blogging would start to play such a big role in my life and how it would affect my life in such a positive way. I’m incredibly happy I took the plunge one day and I don’t think I would be the same me nowadays without my blog.

    Like

  3. I love this post Jen! I’m so happy to have been a part of your journey and to see you grow. I LOVE YOU!

    (Also, I don’t know what my life would be like without YOU.)

    Like

  4. Jen, I love this! It’s such a good discussion question and pertains to any blogger. I never really stop to think about it, but, yes, it’s crazy to think of life without my little slice of the Internet! Though it has given me its fair share of stress, blogging has, as you mentioned, far more pros than cons. Excellent post! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

