Getting Involved on Campus

getting involved on campus

Hi everyone!

It’s Jen, and I’m writing to you post-5-hours of studying for my math midterm that I’m probably taking as you’re reading this. Wish me luck! This week has been more stressful than usual due to some health problems (I’ve had like a fever every night? I don’t even know??) and of course, work, and my math midterm.

But these everyday stresses like classes are no excuse not to get involved on campus with clubs and activities. In high school, I loved doing 272891 things, but realistically, I was part of 2 clubs that I devoted a lot of my time to.

In college this year, I knew I wanted to be in a few clubs I would be really passionate about and eventually hold leadership positions in in the future. So far, I’ve joined the American Marketing Association (and already landed a Brand Ambassador position back in August 2015, look at me go!) and I’ve been loving it so much. Marketing is not my business option, but it’s definitely something I’d possibly consider.

I was part of another business-related club in October, but it’s not really something I’m 100% passionate about and I overall just don’t think I’ll devote a lot of time to it, so I’m dropping that. Don’t be afraid to unsubscribe from club newsletters and to drop out of clubs entirely if you’re just not that into it. It’s okay to say no to clubs!

However, before even stepping on campus, I did know that I wanted to join my campus’ Her Campus. If you don’t know, Her Campus is an online magazine about ALL things college-related, for college females, founded by Harvard students. I discovered Her Campus back in August 2015 and fell in love with it! Most college campuses have their own chapter (if not, YOU should start it!). I found my school’s Her Campus team and applied to be part of their Editorial Team – and got it!

Yesterday was the first meeting, and I honestly could not be more excited to be writing for my school’s Her Campus page. I’m writing in the “Blog” feature, no surprise there 😉 I’ll be sure to link up some of my articles soon!

So those are my two main focuses as of right now. It’s definitely important to not only join clubs that are related to your major; be sure to branch out! When looking for jobs, employers want to see a resume that is diverse and see what else you’re interested in.

Of course, it’s also extremely notable not to overload yourself when choosing clubs for the year. I have a tendency to do that, but I’m also a workaholic and like to stay busy. BUT. Look at me now, getting sick all the time. Maybe it’s time I listen to my own advice! 😉

That’s it from me for now, let me know what you’re up to!

Leave a Reply

