My Quick College Breakfast

my quick college breakfast

If you’re lucky enough to sign up for classes that don’t start at 8:30am, then props to you. But for others, they have no choice but to wake up at 7:00am to get ready (aka me). I’m one of those people who can’t eat on-the-go because I like to eat sitting down and to just take my time if possible. Then again, I’m also one of those people who can’t just have a cup of coffee for breakfast… I need sustenance to get through my day. (Does anyone else wake up starving, or is it just me?!)

On a typical day when I have to wake up at 7am, there are 3 things I eat in my breakfast:

1. Banana

This is kind of obvious, but bananas are so good for you, and plus they’re so quick and easy to eat! No annoying juices dripping everywhere, and no knife involved either. I have a batch of bananas on my shelf 24/7.

2. Greek Yogurt

Yogurt is also super quick. I love getting some sort of dairy in the morning because it’s such a staple breakfast food! I get the Yoplait 100 calories one in either strawberry or mixed berry. Plus, they always seem to be 10/$10.00 at QFC!

3. Eggs

Guys. My entire dorm does not have anywhere to cook. No stoves, no nothing. One of my friends brought a microwave, and I have to thank her eternally for that. Eggs are a must for me to start my day! I had to make do with a microwave instead of a stove – did y’all know you can cook eggs in a microwave? Two easy steps: whisk the egg in a bowl, and microwave it for about 50 seconds – that’s it! I’ve told numerous people on my floor about my method and so many of them have tried it. Not to brag or anything, but I think I changed their lives. 😉

On days I have a little more time in the morning (for example, if my first class of the day starts at like 10:30am), I’ll eat the Special K Fruit & Yogurt cereal with Almond Milk instead of Greek Yogurt.

My entire breakfast routine takes about 10 minutes total (20 minutes on cereal days), which is as quick as it gets. I never feel rushed in the mornings now, and I leave for class with a full belly.

What do you guys eat for breakfast that’s quick and fulfilling?

image source
6 thoughts on “My Quick College Breakfast”

  1. I am totally one of those “If I don’t eat my breakfast I will fall over and die” kind of people! For the past four years, I have had a bowl of either Honey Bunches of Oats (with Almonds) or Cookie Crisps (let’s not judge lol) with warm milk. I kid you not, every day, without fail. I am totally starving when I get up in the morning as well, so you’re totally not alone!

    I think I want to try the banana + greek yogurt thing (although I can’t imagine my life without my daily bowl of cereal!!) for the busier mornings, or as a snack later on in the day if I’m getting hungry and my cereal session was interrupted early (I’m a slooooow cereal eater haha).

    Loved this post, chica! <33

    Like

  2. I DEFINITELY need to eat breakfast. I can’t function without it. And I’m like you — I like to have some time in the morning to just sit and eat. I go through these weird phases where I have to eat the same thing every day until I get sick of it until I move on to something else. Over summer, it was bagels. Right now it’s a banana and eggo chocolate chip pancakes haha. I’ll totally have to try the scrambled egg thing, though! I do have a stove, but I’m too clumsy in the morning to cook anything lol.

    Like

  3. I am the absolute worst at breakfast. I just don’t eat it even though it’s better for one’s health to do so. I mostly just survive off of cups of coffee until late afternoon. In college, I was lucky to have a meal plan for the first two years, so I would always overindulge all day every day. The last two and a half years I would mostly just grab some fruit and coffee or eggs and coffee.

    Coffee is apparently very important.

    Like

    1. Jackie!! It is so not good to only drink coffee in the morning! I’m glad you were pretty good about breakfast in college, but seriously, even a banana is better than just coffee! Thanks for sharing though 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

