Up and Coming: Snapchat

Snapchat

I joined Snapchat back in the spring of 2014 when I was a junior in high school, and I was obsessed with it for like a month. I snapped my friends every day and what felt like 24/7. But then after that, it really died out senior year. It might just have been that my friends were too busy to deal with Snapchat, but I only used it occasionally.

But now in late 2015, it’s come back to life. I’ve noticed that Snapchat is so popular in college – more so than Instagram, even. It’s because people in college are living it up; people want to show off what they’re up to all the time. And I’ll admit it: I love seeing what people are doing. Since college has started, I’ve added so many new friends.

What’s even more interesting is that I’m now adding bloggers’ Snapchats. I used to only have usernames of people I know in real life, like friends who actually go to my school. Now I follow Carly from The College Prepster and even my favorite brands like Lilly Pulitzer and Kate Spade. It’s just so fun to follow people’s lives behind-the-scenes, and they can be the most random things unlike Instagram, where photos should be aesthetically pleasing.

I believe that Snapchat is going to be the next big social media platform for sure. I know for a fact that it’s growing in the medias, but I personally am experiencing a greater usage for Snapchat too.

I’m still debating whether I want to share my Snapchat username and make it public, so I’ll keep you all updated on that! But what do you think? Are you an avid Snapchat user? Do you think it’s interesting or a pointless social media platform?

Blog Sign Off

1 thought on “Up and Coming: Snapchat”

  1. I definitely agree! I don’t know that it ever died down, though I’ve always used it here or there since downloading it, but I agree that it seems to be even bigger in college than in high school. It can sometimes be an easier and faster way to show your friends (and possibly other people) what you’re doing/thinking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

