Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Songs BFYR

Release Date: October 7th, 2014

Source: Borrowed

My Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Goodreads

I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.

Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.

I’m pretty late to the game with picking up a book by Marie Lu. I picked up The Young Elites on a whim when I saw my friend was reading a copy, and I’m happy to say that I’m now a fan of Lu’s books because of how much I enjoyed The Young Elites.

1. Simple, readable writing style


Right off the bat, I noticed Lu’s writing style to be extremely readable and smooth. I love my lyrical authors, but sometimes I love simplistic yet succinct writing styles as well. Lu’s style was exactly that, and it worked really well in The Young Elites.

2. Adelina, the UNLIKELY PROTAGONIST


Our main character Adelina is not your typical heroine… in fact, she’s evil. She’s got a much darker side, which I found to be so incredibly refreshing. Kudos to Lu for bringing out a deeply flawed heroine… or villain? I’m excited to explore the many layers of Adelina.

3. fAST- Paced World


The world itself is not the most original I’ve ever read – kids with super powers as the result of a disease – but it’s original enough that I still appreciated the world Lu created. There’s certainly room for more creativity and difference in this series. Aside from the world, the plot is engaging and fast-paced.

I’m excited for The Rose Society


All of these aspects have made me unbearably excited for the sequel, The Rose Society, out in October 2015, especially with the way The Young Elites ended. That epilogue!! If you haven’t picked up The Young Elites yet, I highly suggest you do so.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu”

  1. I loved this book for all the reason you have mentioned above and more! I’ve already read Lu’s Legend trilogy and found that very easy to read too. I really liked that Adelina is not the typical heroine, it is totally refreshing and I am SO SO SO excited to see how she develops in The Rose Society. My copy just arrived on Saturday so I am super excited to start it this week.
    I’m really glad you liked this one and I hope you get your hands on a copy of The Rose Society too soon! 🙂

    Like

  2. I wasn’t a fan of Legend but I’ve heard this is a much better series and, what’s more, I love an unlikely protagonist because I’m always looking out for diversity in YA. I also can’t resist this genre so…I’ll definitely be picking this up. 😉 Fantastic review, Jen!

    Like

    1. Aww, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy Legend very much, I’m still looking forward to reading it though. I think you would really like the unlikely protagonist aspect in The Young Elites, Keertana!

      Like

Leave a Reply

