Audio Review: Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Publisher: Dutton BFYR

Release Date: May 26, 2015

Source: Online Library

My Rating: 3 out of 5

Goodreads

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.
I’m the friend of a dead girl.
I’m the lover of my enemy.
And I will have my revenge.
 
In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.
 
Sharp and incisive, Daughter of Deep Silence by bestselling author Carrie Ryan is a deliciously smart revenge thriller that examines perceptions of identity, love, and the lengths to which one girl is willing to go when she thinks she has nothing to lose.

Carrie Ryan has been on my radar since I started blogging back in 2011, but I’ve never picked up her books – until now. I’m not ashamed to admit that Daughter of Deep Silence first drew my attention because of its stunning girl-in-a-dress cover. The premise itself sounds interesting enough though: a girl is on a cruise, it gets ambushed and only four people make it off the cruise safely. That’s all I knew going into this story. While Daughter of Deep Silence is entertaining, I had quite a few issues with it.

1. THIS DOESN’T FEEL REAL


In the story, our main character Frances finds herself in a situation where she takes the identity of her best friend Libby. I found it really difficult to believe that people didn’t notice that “Libby” wasn’t actually Libby. They can’t look THAT alike.

Additionally, the cruise ambush is told in detail, but for some reason, I couldn’t wrap my head around it. It just seems like a very intangible and almost unlikely situation. I’ll have to credit the subpar execution of the story for the unbelievable plot.

2. NONE OF THE CHARACTERS REALLY CLICKED


+ Frances/ “Libby”: Frances finds herself in a very confusing situation where she has to pretend to be Libby, and her self-discovery journey plays a large role in this book. I had a difficult time connecting to her because she is just so unsure of herself all the time.

+ Shepard: He serves as the real Libby’s past love, but he ends up helping Frances with the revenge. I liked him because he’s an honest guy, but he doesn’t stand out to me.

+ Grey: a completely boring love interest. No back-bone; he made it really difficult to ship Frances and himself.

3. THAT ENDING


There was no ending. You have been warned.

4. SO WHAT DID WORK?


+ The audiobook: I listened to this one through audio, and I have to say it’s quite good. The performer doesn’t necessarily add or take away from the story, but she was decent and suited Frances’ voice.

+ Flashbacks: The story flashes back to the night of the ambush and I think Ryan did this fairly seamlessly. I think the flashbacks are really thrilling and adds to the story in a positive manner.

5. FINAL THOUGHTS…


Daughter of Deep Silence definitely had more downs than ups for me, but it’s overall an alright read. I think the audiobook makes it sufficiently a better read since I have so many complaints with the content. With a pretty far-fetched plot that isn’t entirely believable and characters that are hard to love, I had to push myself to engage in the story. Daughter of Deep Silence is not for everyone – only if you will read any and all thrillers.

Leave a Reply

