SLOW-PACED BUT INTERESTING

September & October Reviews

Goodreads:

The strange war down south—with its rumors of gods and monsters—is over. And while sixteen-year-old Hallie and her sister wait to see who will return from the distant battlefield, they struggle to maintain their family farm.

When Hallie hires a veteran to help them, the war comes home in ways no one could have imagined, and soon Hallie is taking dangerous risks—and keeping desperate secrets. But even as she slowly learns more about the war and the men who fought it, ugly truths about Hallie’s own family are emerging. And while monsters and armies are converging on the small farm, the greatest threat to her home may be Hallie herself.

MY REVIEW

An Inheritance of Ashes by Leah Bobet took me ages to read, mostly because it’s a 400-page novel that is slow paced. I found myself bored at times, but riveted in others. An Inheritance of Ashes definitely has its good and bad qualities.

HOOKING CONCEPT


As far as the concept goes, I was hooked from the beginning! It’s vague and mysterious, instantly peaking my interest as we find out what in the world is happening alongside the main character, Hallie. After finishing the story though, I have to say that I’m still a little confused on what exactly the world is. I got lost (in a bad way) in the story towards the end; the world-building isn’t lacking, per se, but it’s undoubtedly not executed well-enough for me to have a crystal-clear picture of the world.

A  S L O W  P A C E


An Inheritance of Ashes is an extremely slow-paced novel. Bobet doesn’t hesitate with the atmospheric descriptions of the farm and Hallie’s surroundings. While it helped with engaging the reader in the setting, it also forced the reader to zone out a little – at least for me it did, unfortunately.

GENUINE, REFRESHING ROMANCE


I did highly enjoy the romance: a friendship-to-love kind of romance. It’s unlike other YA romances where it gets all steamy. Nope, Hallie and her love interest take it nice and slow. You can tell that they love each other for who they are inside and as a real people, not because of their physical attributes. I also doesn’t overtake the main conflict of the novel, which I like.

NOT MUCH ELSE


Overall, An Inheritance of Ashes is a good story, despite its slow pace. I can tell it’s going to be one of those quieter ones, but the concept itself is really interesting and I wish I could have been more invested in it through the world-building. The romance is surely a treat if nothing else works out. I don’t have much else to say about this one, but it’s one I recommend if you’re looking for a unique fantasy-esque story that’s a bit slower paced.

2 thoughts on “SLOW-PACED BUT INTERESTING”

Leave a Reply

