Top Ten Books I Read This Summer

top ten books i read this summer

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic to make a list for the top ten!

This week is choose-your-own-topic, so I figured I would wrap up the best books I read this summer! I don’t officially start school until September 30th (perks of being in college, ahh!!), but I think this is a pretty good list. These books are not necessarily the books that I rated the highest this summer, but rather ones I want to recommend to other readers.

2

ADULT

Weirdly enough, my adult favorites of the summer are all ones I listened to on audiobook. The audiobooks made them fantastic, to be honest.

STATION ELEVEN

This one was a really popular favorite of 2014, so I knew I had to pick it up. It was actually required summer reading for my twin’s college this fall, so I thought I would read it along with her! IT’S AMAZING AND EVERYONE NEEDS TO READ IT. Especially on audio!

THE ROYAL WE

This one is every girl’s dream. Go study abroad at Oxford in England and fall in love with the Prince of Wales? YES PLEASE. While a little lengthy, this book was so darn fun and I highly recommend.

HERO | MY REVIEW

I love Samantha Young’s works. Every one of them! This one included.

CONFESS | MY REVIEW

Again with Colleen Hoover. This one was sooo good and really unique. Definitely not your typical New Adult.

3

yoUNG ADULT

THE HEARTBREAKERS | MY REVIEW

Was not expecting to like this one as much as I did! After reading Grace’s review, I knew I wanted to check it out. Really cute contemporary about a boy band!!

THE ACCIDENT SEASON | MY REVIEW | BOOK LOOKS

Probably one of the most unique books I’ve read all year. Beautiful prose and well-done magical realism. Perfect for Halloween.

FANS OF THE IMPOSSIBLE LIFE

So profound and realistic. I really enjoyed the exploration of sexual orientation in this story, and it reminded me a lot of The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Review to come on Saturday!

THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT | MY REVIEW

I listened to this one on audio and I definitely recommend trying it! I loved the concept of the story and the romance is really shippable ☺️

EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING | MY REVIEW | BOOK LOOKS

One of my favorites of 2015, hands down. Love this book so, so much.

DUMPLIN’

Such a great story about confidence and body image. Willowdean is one of my favorite characters – she’s so charismatic! Review to come next week!

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read This Summer

  1. I own Station Eleven and I reeeeally want to/need read it! And YES I HAVE FOUND ANOTHER PERSON WHO LOVES THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT!!!! I loooooved that book and so many other people were like “meh”. I also really enjoyed Everything, Everything. I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. 🙂

    Like

  2. I enjoyed Hero a lot too–though not as much as some of Young’s other books, to be honest–but I reallyyyy need to read a lot of the books you listed. I just haven’t had the time, which is the worst, so I’ll definitely need to pick them up some long weekend soon! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

