Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | Review

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Publisher: Delacorte BFYR

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Source: Netgalley

My Rating: 5 out of 5

Goodreads

This innovative, heartfelt debut novel tells the story of a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world. When a new family moves in next door, she begins a complicated romance that challenges everything she’s ever known. The narrative unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, texts, charts, lists, illustrations, and more.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

You guys, this book is my everything.

Before picking up Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon, I was praying with my heart and soul that this book would live up to its beautiful cover. Someone probably answered those prayers, because this book exceeded the hopes I had. Disclaimer: this review is more like a list of fangirlish thoughts.

1. JUST A FEW OF THE MANY THINGS I LOVED


+ The concept itself is completely unique and I’ve personally never heard of anything like it. Call me instantly intrigued.

+ THE ILLUSTRATIONS OH MY GOD. The Yoon power duo. The gorgeous illustrations brought this book to life, y’all.

+ Maddy is a smart, smart girl. I love that she’s curious and willing to make the most of her life indoors. She reads a heck a lot (book lovers unite!!), so extra brownie points to her!

+ Olly. Olly is my new book boyfriend please thanks? What I love even more about him is that he’s not your usual YA male love interest; I’m not going to spoil anything, so READ ABOUT HIM YOURSELF (but keep your hands off of him because he’s mine, remember?).

+ Maddy & Olly TOGETHER: so, this book definitely had insta-love. There is even one point in the book where Maddy says something like, “I knew I loved him from the first time I saw him”. This is the first (and probably last) time I will ever ship an insta-love – because I believed that their love for each other was true.

2. I DID SEE THAT ENDING COMING THOUGH


I kind of had my suspicions about how the last 25% of the story was going to go, but I just went with it. Even when I found out that my guesses were correct, it didn’t bother me. The ending is still beautifully written and breathtaking, and I couldn’t have asked for a better one. Sigh. I just love Everything, Everything so much.

3. SO IF YOU COULDN’T ALREADY TELL…


Read this book if it’s the last thing you read this year. It’ll make you think everything, feel everything, love everything (in the book), and it will be your everything. This book just got added to my list of all-time favorites!

7 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | Review”

  1. I know this got on a LOT of all-time favorites lists so I definitely need to give it a shot myself. I often struggle with predictable endings but the fact that this one didn’t deter you says a lot about the quality of the first 75% of the novel. Great review, Jen! I’m so glad you enjoyed this and can’t wait to pick it up myself!(:

    Like

  2. i love how your review was told in a list format! let’s face it, EVERYTHING is better in a list format. i preordered this book because of all the great reviews i heard from bloggers. a lot, including yourself, said it was super adorable, though predictable. i actually like the predictability of books (sometimes), so it’s not something i mind that much. i’m so excited to start this one! (after qos of course ;)) great review!! xxx alexandra

    Like

Leave a Reply

