Book Looks: The Accident Season

The Accident Season

It’s been awhile since I last did a Book Looks post! I started this fun feature a few years ago, and I’d love to bring it back for sure. Today, I’m bringing a fall look to you inspired by the cover palette from The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle, out today. I really enjoyed this book and thought it was the perfect mix of creepy, magical, and atmospheric. I created a fall, cooler look with pieces that are each under $50!

To start off, the main piece of this fall look is definitely the maroon lace dress. I wanted to keep the red dress from the cover in the look, but I kept picturing lace. If you read the book, there are little tidbits of magical realism going on, which is why I think lace fits perfectly. I gave two options because I think both dresses are gorgeous but are different in that one is more form-fitting and one is looser. Depending on your sense of style, you can go with the looser one on the right for more of a comfy feel or the form-fitting one with a high-neck if you’re headed to somewhere more formal. I wanted to add an army coat for those chilly fall days. The cinch at the waist creates more shape! I like the plain color because it doesn’t detract from the lace detailing from the dress.

I chose two options again for the shoes, one pair is the cream lace oxfords, and the other is the champagne-colored lace up booties. Again with the lace on the oxfords! If it’s a little cooler, definitely pair the booties with the knee-high socks in a warm color. If you’re walking around more and want more comfortable shoes, go with the oxfords!

Lastly, you’ll need a cute cream backpack for your goodies that you’ll be carrying with you all day on campus! I’ve been obsessed with little packs with the cinch that’s easy to grab things for quick access.


I would totally wear this outfit on campus, or just to hang out with friends. So wearable! If you haven’t already picked up your copy of The Accident Season, make sure you pick it in October for extra goosebumps!

10 thoughts on “Book Looks: The Accident Season”

  1. YESSS BOOK LOOKS IS BACK!! i missed this series sooo much and i still remember the one for chaos of stars that was absolutely GORGEOUS. but i think this one maybee tops that one just because it’s an outfit i can more easily wear to school or out with friends. i am so digging the second dress with the knee socks and the booties and NOW I’M SUPER EXCITED FOR AUTUMN.

    Like

    1. Annie I freaking love you, you know that? I can’t believe you still remember my Chaos of Stars look! But I totally agree with you, this look is wayyy more wearable. I’m so excited for autumn fashion too! ❤ thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  2. HELLO JEN MY NEW BFF 😉 I LOVE THIS! This feature is so creative & YOU HAVE GREAT TASTE IN OUTFITS WOW. I can’t get over those lace oxfords, and that dress <3. This totally captures the whole cover essence & now I want this entire outfit in my closet like right now.

    Like

  3. I haven’t read the book just yet (although I really want to), but I adore the look. It’s totally something I’d wear, especially the maroon lace dress. I’m glad this feature is back, it’s a very original way to promote books and express your creativity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

