Review: Another Day by David Levithan

Another Day by David Levithan

Publisher: Knopf BFYR

Release Date: August 25th, 2015

Source: Netgalley

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Goodreads

The eagerly anticipated companion to David Levithan’s New York Times bestseller Every Day

In this enthralling companion to his New York Times bestseller Every Day, David Levithan (co-author of Will Grayson, Will Grayson with John Green) tells Rhiannon’s side of the story as she seeks to discover the truth about love and how it can change you.

Every day is the same for Rhiannon. She has accepted her life, convinced herself that she deserves her distant, temperamental boyfriend, Justin, even established guidelines by which to live: Don’t be too needy. Avoid upsetting him. Never get your hopes up.

Until the morning everything changes. Justin seems to see her, to want to be with her for the first time, and they share a perfect day—a perfect day Justin doesn’t remember the next morning. Confused, depressed, and desperate for another day as great as that one, Rhiannon starts questioning everything. Then, one day, a stranger tells her that the Justin she spent that day with, the one who made her feel like a real person . . . wasn’t Justin at all.

I read Every Day on audio three years ago, and then re-listened to it again a few days before reading Another Day. In the letter at the beginning of this book, David Levithan states that Another Day is not a companion nor sequel to Every Day, but is more like a twin because they can be read as standalones or together in sequence. I loved Every Day to death; alas, Another Day was a bit of a letdown for me for a few reasons.

1. The details were too fresh in my mind


Because I had just finished rereading Every Day, everything felt a little repetitive in Another Dayeven though it’s told from Rhiannon’s perspective. Levithan has to keep the same dialogue because it’s the same story, so I felt like I could see everything coming, and the element of surprise wasn’t there.

2. Rhiannon’s pOV is not as interesting


 I loved Rhiannon in Every Day, but her day-to-day life is a little dull with the specifics in Another Day. There isn’t much going on in her life besides A, and I wasn’t all too fond of her life. Her struggle with Justin was interesting to read about, but that was pretty much it. Her life drags on from day-to-day until she gets to see A again.

3. My Advice


I feel that I shouldn’t have re-read Every Day right before reading this book. Because I did so, there wasn’t the novelty of it that I loved so dearly before. It felt repetitive and not entirely especial. Rhiannon’s thoughts are still insightful and I loved the questions she asked throughout the story, but Another Day just doesn’t hold the same place in my heart as Every Day.

8 thoughts on “Review: Another Day by David Levithan”

  1. I didn’t read the prequel to this but I’m sorry to hear that this novel didn’t fulfill all your expectations, Jen! I know what a disappointing experience that can be but this is such a helpful review and definitely has me re-evaluating my original decision to read these two back-to-back. Fantastic review, dear!

    Like

  2. I was surprised by how touched I was when I read Every Day- totally wasn’t expecting those feels. It makes sense that this book was repetitive, because it is basically the same book except from a different POV. If I DO decide to pick up this one- I’m a bit on the fence right now- I won’t reread the first, as per your suggestion! This book definitely does seem a bit more dull than Every Day, because part of what I loved about that book was how different everything was day to day.

    Lovely, lovely review, Jen! <33 Thanks for the advice, I'm going to keep it in mind if I do decide to pick this one up.

    Like

  3. Every time I come on your blog I spend forever just browsing through all of it because it’s SO PRETTYYY. Anyways, I was actually planning to buy and read these two right after each other (I’ve never read anything by David Levithan before) but that seems to not be the greatest idea. I really would like to read Every Day sometime soon though… Lovely review!!

    Like

    1. AH GIRL YOU ARE THE SWEETEST ❤ And you so need to get on a Levithan book! They are so profound and thoughtful. I would just read EVERY DAY if I were you, it'll blog you away! Thanks for stopping buy, Sam 🙂

      Like

  4. I didn’t re-read Every Day before picking this one up, but still found it very disappointing that it was basically the exact same story again. Like you I found Rhiannon’s POV kind of dull, and I also found her quite annoying. For me, this was a book that didn’t need to be written as we didn’t get anything new from it and I don’t see myself picking it up again. Really disappointed as I really enjoyed the uniqueness and the magic that was Every Day but that this book just didn’t manage to replicate 😦 Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

