Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

LEGACY OF KINGS by Eleanor Herman

Publisher: Harlequin TEEN

Release Date: August 25th, 2015

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Two things I’d like to admit right off the bat: 1) I have close to no knowledge about Alexander the Great and 2) I honestly don’t have much to say about Legacy of Kings. Going into this story, I was planning to go with the flow and hope that I might have more luck with not being knit-picky with historical facts because I’m not familiar with the history of Alexander the Great; I saw that as a positive aspect. True to my beliefs, Legacy of Kings read as a normal historical fantasy to me. And while Legacy of Kings is packed with more than enough to discuss, I don’t have much to say about it.

My main complaint I have with Legacy of Kings is the absurd amount of information we readers must take in throughout the story. Perhaps it’s the bare knowledge I have of Alexander the Great, but truly I think it’s the world Herman creates that is too cluttered. The story is told from more than five third-person perspectives throughout, and while they are all somewhat connected, they all have their own motivations, stories, backgrounds, and conflicts. It’s overwhelming to say the least. I had a difficult time keeping the characters separate in my head at first; of course I grew accustomed to their differences over time, but even then I found it challenging to grasp onto them firmly and truly dive into their characters to connect with them. I eventually singled out one character’s perspective that I thought was more engaging than the rest, leaving me to be bored with some of the others.

Being a historical fiction weaved in with fantasy elements, the fantasy itself was pretty intriguing, but could have been more fleshed out. I’m sure Herman will be introducing more ideas in the sequel, but I certainly wanted more in this first book. The plot itself is epic and wild with new questions and mysteries being introduced with each page. I have to respect the atmosphere Herman places the characters in; it’s clear she did her research about the time period with the vivid imagery she includes.

It’s hard to say whether I liked Legacy of Kings or not – it’s really pretty half and half with the downfall in characters, but strength in plot. I’m quite curious about what will happen in the sequel with the ending of Legacy of Kings, so I’m actually highly considering picking up the next installment come next fall. If you’re a sucker for epic fantasies and you don’t mind a large cast of characters, I would certainly give Legacy of Kings a try.

5 thoughts on “Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

  1. I’ve been hearing mostly negative reviews about this one, so I plan on skipping it entirely, I’m afraid. I’m a huge fan of historical fantasy, so this genre has a lot to live up to for me, and novels that aren’t as tightly woven as some other really great ones wind up disappointing me quite a bit. Like you, I have a limited amount of knowledge about Alexander the Great but I think I’d wind up really criticizing small aspects of this so I’m glad it worked out for you, Jen, though I’m not sold it would for me. Thanks for such a helpful review, dear!

    Like

Leave a Reply

