Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Publisher: Dial Books

Release Date: August 18th, 2015

Source: First To Read

My Rating: 4 out of 5

Goodreads

A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han 

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.

I read My Life Next Door three years ago and I absolutely loved it. The Boy Most Likely To is the companion novel that follows Tim and Alice, characters I weren’t particularly fond of in My Life Next Door. However, I’m extremely satisfied with the fact that Huntley Fitzpatrick decided to tell us their story, because I ended up falling in love with these two.

1. WHAT’S DIFFERENT IN THIS COMPANION


+ Two different perspectives in first person POV, Tim and Alice

+ Not as fluffy, but still fun

+ Less focus on romance, more focus on Tim and Alice’s own personal issues

That’s not to say these differences are ones I didn’t like. Not the case at all. I love that Fitzpatrick really delved deep into Tim’s character and his issues. He’s a rough one, he is. His character growth wowed me, and I love that Alice assisted in that.

2. BUT THERE IS ONE LITTLE THING…


Alice’s perspective was surprisingly more dull to read about compared to Tim’s. This is shocking because I loved reading about the Garretts in My Life Next Door. I’m not sure why; I love Alice as a character, but her perspective didn’t seem as necessary and interesting as Tim’s.

3. THOSE PLOT TWISTS THOUGH


I was honestly pretty surprised at where this book took its turn, it was so unexpected! This is where The Boy Most Likely To is much heavier than My Life Next Door. It really works though because of Tim’s strength and ability to deal with tough situations.

ENJOYED THIS ONE A WHOLE LOT


Overall, if you enjoyed My Life Next Door, I suggest you pick up its companion. Even if you weren’t fully aware of Tim or Alice in the first book, you’ll be surprised at how much you learn and grow to love Tim. He certainly won my heart.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick”

  1. I really love this style of review, Jen, and am so glad you enjoyed this one! My Life Next Door didn’t work for me but I loooved Fitzpatrick’s sophomore novel, What I Thought Was True, so I’m really excited to pick this one up. Gorgeous review, dear!

    Like

  2. It’s really too bad that Alice’s POV was dull, because in My Life Next Door she seemed like she’d be exciting to read! Great review! It made me want to pick this up because even though I liked Tim I wasn’t really feeling reading an entire book about him, but now I want to read it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s