The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

Publisher: Kathy Dawson Books

Release Date: August 18th, 2015

Source: First to Read

Rating: 4.25 stars

The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle has to be one of the craziest books I’ve read all year.

Here, I’m defining “craziest” as completely unique and quiet at the same time. The Accident Season is creepy, alluring, atmospheric, and all-around chilling; it’s a perfect read for Halloween, since it takes place in October – the accident season. The story itself follows the main character Cara, sister to the popular Alice, ex-stepsister to Sam, and best friend to witchy and mysterious Bea. Cara and her friends and family are prone to accidents in October, ranging from cuts and bruises to freak accidents resulting in death. Knowing this much about the story is already extremely generous – the rest of the plot is best to be discovered through reading Fowley-Doyle’s written words themself. Fowley-Doyle’s writing is descriptive and enticing, extremely perfect for the setting in The Accident Season. Her writing places the reader into the story in such a way that I found myself completely immersed in the world. I like to think that this book is more focused on the imagery of the setting and mood rather than the characters.

However, there are still characters I’d like to discuss from The Accident Season. Cara finds herself solving a mystery of sorts with her friends and family, all while trying to figure out who she is as a teenage girl. She’s envious of her best friend Bea all the time because Bea is unique and isn’t afraid to be. Cara’s envious of her older sister Alice because she’s popular and has a rockstar boyfriend. Lastly, Cara’s confused by her relationship with her ex-stepbrother Sam – she begins to have feelings for him. Cara’s identity crisis is completely genuine and relatable. Additionally, her curiosity towards the mystery is admirable as well as her determination to solve it all while avoiding injuries during the accident season.

There seems to be a lot going on in The Accident Season, but trust me, Fowley-Doyle puts the puzzle pieces together skillfully in the end. This is one of those stories where everything falls into place and it’s just a masterful piece of art upon finishing the book. I’ve never read anything quite like The Accident Season before, and with its magical realism aspects and atmospheric writing style, it’s not a story to be missed.

8 thoughts on “The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

  1. Honestly the way you described this book has me SUPER excited to read it. I love reading creepy atmospheric reads around Halloween time- it just fits the vibe, you know??

    This plot you’ve hinted at is really intriguing. The concept of the accident season is already creepy and I can only begin to imagine some of the stuff that the family has gone through during the month! The writing sounds like it’ll be a gorgeous complement to the creepiness of the idea.

    I feel like I’d totally be able to relate to Cara. I’m kind of going through my own identity crisis as I try to figure out who the heck I really am for college applications, haha. I’d love to be able to see her identity crisis so I can freak out alongside with her. 😉

    Gorgeous review, Jen! You’ve gotten me really excited for this one. 😀

    Like

    1. YOU WOULD SO ENJOY THIS BOOK. And I totally feel ya on the college apps – they actually made me realize a lot of things about myself, you know? Cara def goes through that same self-discover thing. Can’t wait for you to pick this one up!

      Like

  2. I haven’t heard of this one at all but I adore that cover and the concept of a creepy, wacky novel always appeals to me. I’m always looking out for something different and this seems to fit the bill perfectly. Not to mention I really enjoy trying out a new author when her prose is atmospheric, as this sounds. Thanks for putting this on my radar, Jen, and gorgeous review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

