Series Review: The Superlatives by Jennifer Echols

The Superlatives Review

The Superlatives trilogy by Jennifer Echols

BIGGEST FLIRTS // PERFECT COUPLE //  MOST LIKELY TO SUCCEED

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Release Dates: 2014-2015

Series Rating: 3 out of 5

In all honesty, I didn’t think that The Superlatives trilogy by Jennifer Echols would blow me away much at all; I read my first Echols book, Going Too Far, and thought it was pretty good and fun. However, I wasn’t completely SOLD on Echols’ writing or her books in general. Sadly, while The Superlatives trilogy is certainly entertaining, I’m still not considered a huge fan, and probably never will be.

This series follows the lives of three high school girls in Florida, and the titles of these three books are based on their senior awards, or as they call it, their Senior Superlative title.

The first book, Biggest Flirts, is my least favorite in the trilogy. The main character was not one that I could easily relate to. Tia Cruz is a girl who is incredibly smart, but purposely underwhelms her intelligence and doesn’t particularly like to form close romantic relationships: a no-strings-attached kind of girl. She entices the new boy from Minnesota, Will, and they get Biggest Flirts. From there, their story takes off. I think it’s a little crazy that these high schoolers are so obsessed with their Senior Superlative title and base their lives around it. It’s not that big of a deal, y’all.

Following Tia’s story is Harper’s story with Perfect Couple. I enjoyed this one a bit more just because Harper is more me: studious, artsy, and hard-working. Harper gets voted the Perfect Couple that Never Was with the most popular jock at school, Brody. They get together in this book because of their Senior Superlative title (again, their lives revolve around these things? Why?). It’s a pretty cute story though, and I enjoyed the plot twist that is thrown in.

Finally, there is Most Likely to Succeed, my favorite book in the trilogy. The characters just grew on me over time, because characters from book one and two make some appearances in this final book. For me, Kaye’s story in this conclusion contained the most substance and conflict and was overall more well-written.

The Superlatives trilogy is a little wonky and over-exaggerated, considering the fact that high schoolers in real life would never base their senior year by their senior awards, but it’s overall pretty fun. Tia, Harper, and Kaye are best friends, so their presence in each other’s stories are pretty prominent over all three books, which I liked. The Superlatives trilogy is not one I’m going to particularly recommend however, unless you like fun high school dramas with a touch of steamier-than-average YA romances.

3 thoughts on “Series Review: The Superlatives by Jennifer Echols”

  1. I’ve never been a fan of Echols either–I like her books just fine but they never “wow” me or truly stick with me much at all–but, like you, I’ve heard SO MUCH about this trilogy. I’m really glad you reviewed it, Jen, because I suspect I’d feel the same way about this as you did. Thanks for such an honest review, dear–these may be good but I don’t think I’m going to spend my time on them since they’re not earth-shattering novels. Fantastic post!

    Like

    1. I’m glad I’m not alone in this, Keertana! I guess Echols’ books just don’t work out for some people. I can’t see you enjoying these books much, either. Thanks for stopping by! ❤

      Like

  2. Sounds like one of those series to be read for pure entertainment value, and as long as I go in knowing that, I think I’ll enjoy these characters! I don’t even remember if we had senior superlatives, so obviously no one at my high school cared much about them 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

