10 Fairytale Retellings I NEED TO READ

1

Time for another Top 10 Tuesday (that I haven’t done in ages!) Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the ladies over at Broke and Bookish.

This week’s theme is fun! I love fairytale retellings, but it looks like I’m pretty bad about reading them. I chose “actual fairytales” and then “sort of fairytales” – because those are mostly classics, not fairytales (shh!)

2

1. UPROOTED // Naomi Novik

Probably one the most hyped books after its release date this year! Hear SO MANY GOOD THINGS.

2. CINDER // Marissa Meyer

To be honest I’m just waiting for Winter to come out so I can binge read this series!!

3. CRUEL BEAUTY // Rosamund Hodge

I tried reading this one back before it came out, but couldn’t get into it because I wasn’t in the right mindset. I definitely want to revisit this one!

4. OF BEAST AND BEAUTY // Stacey Jay

It looks like there are a lot of Beauty and the Beast retellings that I want to read, lol. But I loved Stacey Jay’s Princess of Thorns so I want to read another fairytale retelling of hers!

5. A WICKED THING // Rhiannon Thomas

So I haven’t heard the best things about this book, but the cover is just so pretty and I LOOVE Sleeping Beauty. It doesn’t hurt to give this book a shot, does it?

3

6. SPLINTERED // A. G. Howard

I’ve heard great things about this (now complete) Alice in Wonderland retelling! Although I do hear there’s a companion novel coming out…

7. ALICE IN ZOMBIELAND // Gena Showalter

Another Alice in Wonderland retelling I want to read!

8. SCARLET // A. C. Gaughen

I’m actually not familiar with the Robin Hood story at all, which is why I’ve been staying away from this one, I think. Is it crucial that I know the original story?

9. TIGER LILY // Jodi Lynn Anderson

Lots of feels with this one, I hear. I’m a little nervous!

10. DOROTHY MUST DIE // Danielle Paige

This one just seems plain entertaining!!


 

What are some of your favorite fairytales?

 

12 thoughts on “10 Fairytale Retellings I NEED TO READ”

  1. Love, love, love your choices here Jen! I absolutely loved Dorothy Must Die, Splintered and Unrooted and hope you end up enjoying them as well. And OMG…you must read Tiger Lily! It’s one of my favorite books of all time and has some of the most beautiful writing you’ll ever have the pleasure of reading. (And it will rip your feels apart too!) Thanks for sharing and fabulous post! ❤

    Like

  2. Honestly one of the biggest regrets in my life is reading the Cinder books as soon as they came out, because the wait inbetween books = KILLER. I actually read an ARC of Cinder and then a suuuuper early ARC of CRESS so I feel like I’ve spent half of my life just waiting for those books to come out, haha. It’s legit the perfect series to binge, so definitely do it over winter break when all the books are out. 😀

    I actually have Of Beast and Beauty checked out from the library!! It looks fantastic. I also need to pick up Cruel Beauty- I have heard SO many great things about it.

    I enjoyed both Splintered and Alice in Zombieland- my sister LOVED the latter one! It’s actually very addicting, but I think all the books are out now, so you can definitely binge that series too, haha. I can’t believe we both haven’t picked up Tiger Lily, after all the amazing praise!! We totally need to read that one.

    Lovely, lovely list, Jen! I hope you enjoy all of these. (& gorgeous graphics!! <##)

    Like

    1. That was actually my plan, to read the LUNAR CHRONICLES over winter break!! I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the SPLINTERED and ALICE IN ZOMBIELAND series; I actually think there might be another book in the latter series. *sighs*

      Like

  3. Uprooted, Of Beast & Beauty, Cruel Beauty, and Tiger Lily are all among my favorite books ever, forget re-tellings. They’re just SO GOOD so I hope you get a chance to pick them up soon, Jen! I have no doubt that you’re going to love them!(:

    Like

  4. I’m dying to read Uprooted (what am I even waiting for ?!!). Dorothy Must Die was very entertaining, so many little winks to the original story, but the main character, oh the main character. It’s a still a good book, I hope you’ll like it !

    Like

  5. YESSSSSS! I LOVE fairytale retellings or anything fairytale related so all of these books make me happy. I’ve read nothing but amazing things about Uprooted, so that’s probably on the top of my list along with Of Beast and Beauty because Beauty and the Beast is my all time favorite. LOVED Cinder, Cruel Beauty, Scarlet and Alice in Zombieland:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

