Audiobook Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Release Date: August 26, 2014

Narrators: Will Damron & Amy Rubinate

Source: Online Library

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

As someone who is starting college just a few short months, I’ve been looking for books that have characters who are in the same boat as me: perhaps fresh out of high school or already in college. I was in the mood for a cutesy romance, so I stumbled upon A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall. Upon finishing this one, I can say this 14 perspective contemporary romance was just what I needed.

You can probably infer from the title itself, but the story is definitely a little something different. The story is centered around two college students Gabe and Lea and their blooming romance. However, it is never told from their perspectives. Instead, we get a unique 14 different perspectives, whether it be Gabe’s brother, a Chinese food delivery guy, or even a squirrel’s perspective. Hall utilizes these perspectives really skillfully; you can tell she had fun writing all of them. By having multiple perspectives, Hall is able to keep the reader on their toes since the chapters are so short but also keep the reader entertained as the each perspective gets swept up in Gabe & Lea’s whirlwind of a romance.

I’m going to go on a tangent here and pose a question: one of the perspectives is told from Gabe & Lea’s Creative Writing Professor, Inga. Inga plays matchmaker and quite literally ships Gabe and Lea, and goes so far as pushing them work together and sign up for the second term of Creative Writing. Do college professors actually do that? Scope out their students and “ship” them together? So random but I thought this was so hilarious.

A Little Something Different is such a fun and quirky read that I can honestly say I was captivated 100% throughout the story. Might I recommend the audiobook as well? There are two narrators, one male and one female. Both did a wonderful job changing their voices for the 14 total perspectives – shout out to the male narrator for performing the squirrel’s voice so well! Overall, I highly recommend A Little Something Different if that’s exactly what you’re in the mood for.

 

2 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall”

  1. Yesss THIS BOOK WAS FANTASTIC! I read it while I was a freshman in college too and it was just the perfect, light contemporary read as I start out my freshman days. I thought the teacher was hilarious b/c she tried to partner up her students like a matchmaker. I think that’s something I would do if I ever became a teacher! I’m so glad you enjoyed this book and I’m looking forward to her next book 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

