Mini Reviews: Last Year’s Mistake & Every Last Word

Last Year’s Mistake by Gina Ciocca

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Release Date: June 9, 2015

Source: Edelweiss

Rating: 4 out of 5

Last Year’s Mistake by Gina Ciocca is a drama-filled, addicting read that I couldn’t help but speed through. It tells the story of Kelsey’s relationship with her childhood friend David, and how their complicated friendship forms into a romance. This story is told in alternating chapters from their childhood past and present day of their senior year. I found this to be done extremely well as readers got to understand Kelsey and David’s close bond. Things get complicated and drama-filled from sophomore year to senior year, and I was hooked onto all of the issues they must solve to figure out that they are truly meant to be with one another. Throughout the story, I couldn’t help but grow to ship Kelsey and David together, spurring my eyes to read faster to see if they do end up together. Because honestly, those types of romances are my favorite: those childhood boy-next-door best friends to One True Pairing in the end. Last Year’s Mistake is a quick and fun read, perfect for the poolside or at the beach.


 

Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Release Date: June 16th, 2015

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Every Last Word tells the story of a girl who has OCD, where her thoughts are constantly, obsessively running through her head all the time. Sam’s OCD also causes her to be obsessed with the number 3. Sam sees a psychiatrist every week, but no one knows aside from her family. Her group of girl “friends” at school are superficial, shallow, and don’t seem to respect Sam very much. I really enjoyed reading about Sam’s discovery into the Poet’s Corner, and how she finds a group of real, true friends to help her through her mental illness. In this case, the romance works really well, too; it’s sweet and genuine, despite the hurtles Sam and the boy had in their past. While Every Last Word is a thoughtful story about self-discovery and mental illness and overall extremely satisfying, I couldn’t help but have this nagging feeling the in the back of my brain: it’s a cliché story. It’s a predictable self-discovery story. However so, Every Last Word is still touching. Stone’s writing is very read-able and I loved the snippets of poetry we get throughout the book.

7 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Last Year’s Mistake & Every Last Word

  1. I just recently discovered Last Year’s Mistake, and I’m so glad you enjoyed it!! I totally love the cute, boy-next-door romances! Those are always adorable. ❤ It's so interesting that this is told in alternating POVs with the past and present- I can't remember the last time I read a book like that, and well-done at that! I'm definitely going to have to pick this one up!!

    Eh, as for Every Last Word, I'm not sure how I'm feeling about the cliche, self-discovery story. I'm really happy that it's well-done at least! I haven't read many OCD stories before, and I love how friendship is a big theme in this novel as well. Maybe if I'm looking for that kind of self-discovery book, I'll read this one. 🙂

    Lovely reviews, as always, Jen! <33

    Like

    1. Hmm, I can see how you would maybe not enjoy the drama-filled plot in LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE, but I think you would definitely enjoy EVERY LAST WORD. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m so glad to see you enjoyed Every Last Word Jen, I have that one on my list to start next week and I’m looking forward to it! I’m fine with stories that are a little cliche as long as they’re well done and the characters are lovable, and that seems to be the case here. Lovely reviews!

    Like

  3. I actually a little bit disappointed with Last Year’s Mistake. Sure, the romance and friendship were cute, but I feel like there’s too much drama in that book. As for Every Last Word, I haven’t read it, but many people seems to like it 🙂
    Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

