The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Release Date: June 2, 2015

Source: Netgalley / Publisher

Rating: 4 out of 5

Out of all of the different paranormal creatures, witches have to be my least favorite. For some reason, whenever I hear witches, I think of a bunch of jibber-jabber, magical spells that have too much history behind them. Or it may be because I just love vampires/werewolves/angels too much, and no witch book has ever stuck out to me. However, after reading The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker, witches may just be my new favorite type of paranormal creature.

The Witch Hunter follows the story of a witch hunter named Elizabeth Grey, who has grown up hunting, but not killing, witches nearly her whole life alongside her companion, Caleb. Her job is to capture witches and bring them to the stake to burn. However, after an incident that unfortunately mistakes her to be a witch, everything goes awry and Elizabeth has to figure out how to get out of this witchy situation.

The cast of characters in The Witch Hunter is probably my favorite part of the story. Our main character Elizabeth is lovable from the start: she may be a kick-ass witch hunter, but she is flawed just like any other teenage girl. She’s not perfect and she knows it, which makes her all the more relatable. The people she meets along the way really grew on me, and there are a handful of them. George, Fifer, John, Nicholas, all of them. Fifer, a snarky teen witch, is really rude to Elizabeth, but eventually gets to know her and I grew to love her as well. I can’t say that the romance was absolutely necessary in the story, but it added a nice heart-warming emotional aspect to the story. It’s certainly not a romance that takes away, but rather adds to the story.

The world building itself is nicely developed; set in an alternate 1500 England, the witch history and kingdom drama is at an all-time high, and these teens must figure out how to destroy the new ruler. The magic aspect is so fun and I think Boecker had a fun time writing it as well. I certainly think it is entertaining and fast-paced.

Overall, I can happily say that The Witch Hunter is a light, fast-paced witch story with a highly endearing cast of characters. I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did with my mindset of witches being my least favorite in the paranormal category, but Boecker surely changed that. I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled for the sequel, no doubt!

5 thoughts on “The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

  1. “witchy situation” ahaha, I see you and your subtle puns, Jen. 😉

    I’m loving the sound of this book!! I have read a few witch books that I’ve liked- the Hex Hall series by Rachel Hawkins comes to mind as my most favorite. I think it’s something you’d like- it’s HILARIOUS (although I read it forever ago!).

    Nonetheless, the cast of secondary characters is sound fabulous. I loveee it when all the characters are really fleshed out, and character development is just another added bonus! It’s also good to see that the romance added to the story- I hate when it just distracts from a novel (which unfortunately happens far too often :P).

    Loving the sound of this setting too!! An alternate 1500 England sounds SO COOL. I’ve always wondered what living during that era would feel like, so it seems like I’ll definitely have to pick this one up now! 😀

    Fantastic review, as always, Jen! This one’s going on my TBR for sure. <33

    Like

    1. Woohoo! I think you would find THE WITCH HUNTER as quite a pleasant read. YES aha glad you caught my pun! And I totally remember reading HEX HALL four years ago and really liking it too. That series seems like one of too few, though! Thanks for stopping by my blog, Aneeqah! ❤

      Like

  2. You know, I totally know where you’re coming from on witches. Now that I think about it, I haven’t come across a witch-themed book that I’ve LOVED since HP. (Although I did love all of the witch chapters in Heir of Fire). So it’s pretty great to hear that enjoyed this one! I shall have to move it up my tbr.

    Like

  3. I have to agree with you about witches, and now that I think about it, there are very few books with witches I actually enjoyed, and one of them is a classic. But I love the sound of characters in this one, and an alternate historical setting is always appealing to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

