A Sense of the Infinite by Hilary T. Smith

A Sense of the Infinite by Hilary T. Smith

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: May 19, 2015

Source: Edelweiss / Harper Collins

Rating: 4 out of 5

I read Hilary T. Smith’s Wild Awake last year and fell absolutely in love. Smith’s writing style is truly beautiful and the subject matter that is in Wild Awake is extremely powerfully written. After finishing that book, I knew I would read anything she wrote. When A Sense of the Infinite fell into my hands, I dove right in. From page one, I was hit full-force with Smith’s gorgeous writing style once again. A Sense of the Infinite is a satisfying sophomore novel from Smith.

A Sense of the Infinite tells the story of Annabeth Schultz, a girl without a father. A girl whose father raped her mother and left promptly afterwards. She is the product of a monster. The story surrounds Annabeth’s struggle with self-discovery and friendship with Noe, her best friend. From the start, Smith sets up Annabeth’s friendship with Noe very genuinely. In just a few short chapters, Smith made me believe that Annabeth and Noe are the best of friends, inseparable. Smith’s impeccable writing builds up the friendship really well, forming a strong foundation for the rest of the story.

A lot of things happen in A Sense of the Infinite that forces Annabeth to reevaluate her life choices and who to surround herself with. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I have to say that some of the plot events are a little random, and seemed haphazardly placed in the story. Towards the end, the story lost my attention a bit. The characterization throughout is still enjoyable, but the story itself became a little wonky. I feel that Smith didn’t have to include those events to make the story stand out; it is already beautiful as it is. The ending is open-ended and I wish that I had gotten more closure on Annabeth and her future.

A Sense of the Infinite is not quite as impressive as Wild Awake simply because the plot points are a little shaky and they get quirky – almost as if they are asking for your full attention – towards the end, but the writing style and characterization is skillfully done nonetheless. I’ll continue to look forward to Smith’s books in the future.

2 thoughts on “A Sense of the Infinite by Hilary T. Smith”

  1. I think I was one of the few who didn’t absolutely ADORE Hilary T. Smith’s first novel. I went into without knowing a single thing, so it was just one of those books where I was left going “wth is happening??”. I totally agree that her writing is superb though, that’s one aspect that I loved about Wild Awake.

    Regardless, I’m sorry you didn’t like this one as much as her debut! The friendship between Annabeth and Noe sounds extremely authentic, and it’s been SUCH a long time since I read a real, honest, and raw friendship.

    In regards to the plot, that’s kind of how I felt the plot was in Wild Awake. Things just seemed so random and out of place. So I’m not very excited to here that’s how you felt about this book. :/ It seems like Smith was overdoing herself when in reality, her writing was enough.

    But yay for loving the book overall! The characters seem phenomenal, so it seems like I will indeed be picking up this book- but maybe a little later, after all this hype is gone. 😉

    Like

  2. I can totally see where you’re coming from, Jen! (I think we talked about the plot thing after you read it…) But as a fellow Smith lover, I’m so glad you still love her books. I NEED ANOTHER FAN IN MY LIFE. Awesome review, chica!
    XO Willa

    Like

Leave a Reply

