City Love by Susane Colasanti

City LoveCity Love by Susane Colasanti

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: April 21, 2015

Pages: 336

Source: Edelweiss/Harper Collins

Rating: 2 out of 5

I’ve read my fill of Susane Colasanti’s books before, but they’re  simply those contemporaries that are quick and easy to read, but eventually blur together in my head after a while. I’m not quite sure why I picked up City Love. Reading the synopsis, I was automatically entranced by the idea of love in New York City. If you all didn’t know, I’ve never been to NYC and it seems like a distant dream to me. Of course, I will grasp at anything that can bring me closer to NYC. City Love seemed like it would do just that.

City Love is told from the perspectives of three girls who move in together at the beginning of the summer to prepare for college in the fall. We get Sadie, Rosanna, and Darcy. You’d think that out of these three girls, I would enjoy reading from at least one of their perspectives. Unfortunately, I found that all three girls were either too naive or just plain annoying in some way.

To start off, we have Sadie. Sadie is the highly optimistic girl who is miss goody-two-shoes. There are those type of people who are extremely positive in the world, and truly brighten others’ day. However, Sadie was annoyingly happy all the time. Not only this, but she has a main focus on finding THE ONE. I get that this book is called “City Love” and that it’s primarily a romance, but seriously? Romance and finding the right soul mate is ALL Sadie thinks about. It’s like she needs to be with a boy in order to be happy. I feel like her need to be with someone blinds her.

Next, we have Rosanna. She considers herself as the “poor” girl of the group, always saving up and receiving generous, expensive clothing donations from Darcy. Rosanna felt really awkward to me and had little to no self-confidence. And the thing this, she doesn’t really progress as a character throughout the book. We learn later on in the story that something in her past affected her deeply. However, she was extremely hypocritical in giving advice to Sadie. Rosanna says something like, “If you’re going to be in a relationship, you have to be honest with each other.” When in fact, she’s hiding everything from her love interest! Major character turn-off.

Lastly, we have Darcy. She’s older than Sadie and Rosanna, and she’s a one-night stand kind of gal. She’s probably my favorite of the girls since she’s got a bit of spunk, but she was also downright insensitive and rude to her roommates. Sure she’s dealing with a lot of crap, but it doesn’t mean that she can put that on her roommates. All three girls in City Love were a no-go for me.

Finally, the aspect with all three girls finding a romance not even a week into moving into NYC was kind of astounding and coincidental. I understand that that’s the main premise of the story, but it was too convenient and unrealistic that it broke the flow of the story as a whole.

City Love wasn’t disappointing since I wasn’t expecting much out of it, but I wasn’t surprised in a good way, either. Even though it was told from the perspective of three girls, I wasn’t able to connect or sympathize with any of them. I think it’s safe to say that this will be my last Colasanti book for a long time.

6 thoughts on “City Love by Susane Colasanti

  1. Humm, I’ve never read a book by this author before, but I can’t say I have much of an urge to now at all after reading this. Contemporary Romance isn’t my genre anyways, but it’s especially hopeless if I can’t connect to any of the characters. I hope your next read is/was better!

    Like

    1. Yeah, since you’re not the biggest contemporary fan, I would say you probably wouldn’t like this one. There are definitely much better contemporaries out there!

      Like

  2. I have this book on my TBR (and I don’t consider myself a HUGE Colasanti fan), and it makes me sad that you didn’t love this one! Unless her writing absolutely sweeps me away, I can tell that I’m not going to love the romance aspect either. Like, I get if ONE finds a romance w/in the first week, but not all of them.

    Like

    1. The writing isn’t all that spectacular either, unfortunately! I bet you have a ton more contemporaries on your TBR, I suggest you start w/ those!

      Like

  3. Aww so sad that you didn’t like this one too much, especially since it’s a romance set in the magical NYC! I too enjoy Susane’s books as entertaining, light, fun reads but I do agree that sometimes they tend to become kind of monotonous. It’s a shame that Sadie and Rosanna and Darcy fell flat, too! With three main characters I was hoping at least one of them would be likable! Anyway, lovely review! Thanks for sharing, Jen. 🙂 xx

    Like

    1. I thought this book was going to be magical too since it’s freaking NYC! That didn’t happen though. I hope you have better luck with this book if you end up reading it, Riya! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

