Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby

Things We Know by Heart (1)Things We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: April 21, 2015

Pages: 304

Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

While I wasn’t the biggest fan of Jessi Kirby’s Golden, I was still interested in reading her 2015 release, Things We Know by Heart because the synopsis is really unique and unlike anything else I have ever heard of. It’s about a girl named Quinn,  whose boyfriend Trent died in a car accident. His heart is donated and transplanted to a boy named Colton. Quinn seeks out to meet this boy who has literally taken Trent’s heart.

For me, the main issue I had with Things We Know by Heart was actually the pacing. The entire thing is calm and waaay too slow. I feel like the pace was moving along with Quinn and how slowly she was getting over her grief for Trent. Agonizingly slow and draggy. Everything felt very burdensome for me, just like the way going out and being a normal teenager felt very burdensome for Quinn.

Speaking of Quinn, it took me a long time for me to warm  up to her. It wasn’t that she was depressed, but it was the fact that she decided not to tell Colton that she knew about his heart condition. In the story, Colton decides not to meet any family or friends of the heart donor, yet Quinn does this to find her closure for herself and for her own self-interest. I thought this was inconsiderate of her and it rubbed me the wrong way.

On the other hand, Colton was a wonderful character. Jessi Kirby writes him as my ideal kind of male love interest. What I loved the most about him was his profound thoughts and his love for adventure. He had the ability to bring Quinn out of her lonely cave.

In the end though, I’m wondering what Quinn would have been like had she not found Colton. Was Colton the only way she could find closure on her dead boyfriend? Is love the only answer to depression as a whole? The conclusion to Things We Know by Heart is sweet and touching, but I can’t help but ask these questions. I still feel like I didn’t get any closure from this story.

Overall, Things We Know by Heart has an intriguing premise, but a main protagonist that fell flat. And although the love interest was admirable, the overall theme of the story didn’t click with me. It’s definitely uplifting and more emotional for other people, but I can’t say the same for myself.

2 thoughts on “Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby

  1. I honestly also wasn’t the biggest fan of Jessi Kirby’s first book, Golden. Also, not gonna lie, this book sounds kind of weird?? Like what even is this concept? I guess it may have worked if it was executed better. I’m a little sad that I wasn’t. =(

    Come to think of it, the fact that the main character just shows up at this guy’s house even though he clearly stated that he didn’t want to interact with anyone is pretty inconsiderate…. Although I am liking the sound of Colton!! I’ve been weirdly craving a good romance, which is just so unusual for me haha.

    Lovely review, Jen! In the end, I think this is going to be one that I skip. :/

    Like

  2. I enjoyed GOLDEN a looot more than this novel and had many of the same questions that you did, Jen. I’m all for love stories but there’s a fine line between love being a solution and love being a support system while you save yourself and I felt like this wasn’t quite the emotional punch I wanted it to be. Lovely review, dear–I agree wholeheartedly with everything you’ve had to say. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

