Trilogy Review: Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (no spoilers)

Trilogy Review- Mara DyerThe Unbecoming of Mara Dyer / The Evolution of Mara Dyer / The Retribution of Mara Dyer

The Mara Dyer trilogy is one that induces spine-tingles, shortness of breath, and a rapidly beating heart. It’s not just a psychological thriller. It’s more than that.

I read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer pretty early on in my blogging career. I had no experience with psychological thrillers, so I thought this was new, refreshing, and incredibly enticing. A few years later with much more experience with this genre, re-reading it has opened my eyes to new aspects that I didn’t notice before. However, one thing remains the same; after reading The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer a second time, I still found it to be extremely thrilling and fast-paced. Hodkin does a fabulous job keeping us on the edge of our seats. I needed to know what was going to happen next. This first installment is trippy and exciting. Nevertheless, I couldn’t help but notice how Edward-Bella the romance was. I didn’t notice it the first time I read this book, but the second time around, it was SO GLARINGLY THERE. Don’t get me wrong, Noah Shaw is still a hot love interest, but he resembled Edward uncannily. Regardless, I still had a wild ride with the first installment in this trilogy.

In the sequel, The Evolution of Mara Dyer, things definitely start to pick up. The plot quickens, and Mara and Noah find more answers to their problems. Not only this, but their romance develops very smoothly as well. I felt the chemistry and bond between them, strengthening my love for this trilogy. I think that this is the strongest installment out of the trilogy, and with this type of intensity, I was ready for the conclusion to blow me out of the water.

Nevertheless, The Retribution of Mara Dyer barely did it for me. To this day, I’m still a bit muddled about my feelings. This conclusion takes on a whole different genre, it seems. It’s no longer a psychological thriller, perhaps because the answers that Mara and Noah find become scientific. It takes a completely unexpected path, and I’m not the biggest fan. The plot pacing slows down a bit towards the middle, but the ending is good enough that I’m satisfied with it. Things become a little batsh*t crazy, but hey, that’s kind of the whole point of this trilogy. This one had to be my least favorite in the trilogy. It’s not exactly disappointing, but it’s not what I expected.

Overall, the Mara Dyer trilogy is extremely clever and quite sensational. Psychological thrillers are difficult to write, I’m sure, but Hodkin wrote an extremely cohesive story that readers won’t want to miss. Even though the conclusion was a little off for me, I still think this trilogy is definitely worth the read. If you love a good scare, get ready to have your mind blown!

2 thoughts on “Trilogy Review: Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (no spoilers)”

  1. I’ve wanted to read these for a while, and hopefully soon I’ll be able to. I know what you mean by the last book letting you down, I felt the same about Mockingjay. As long as the ending is satisfying all is not lost 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

