Mini Reviews: I’ll Meet You There & None of the Above

Mini Reviews_1 (1)

 

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Release Date: February 3, 2015

Pages: 400

Source: Online Library

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Let’s get this out there: there is TONS of hype surrounding I’ll Meet You There. Before I started this book, I took a deep breath and prepared myself for all of the emotions that would explode right before my eyes, and gathered tissues for all of the feels. To be honest, I really shouldn’t have let the hype get to me because I’ll Meet You There disappointed me a bit. It was, by all means, still a great story, but I didn’t feel that WOW; it didn’t blow me away like it should have. For me, it read like a typical New Adult story. Josh just came back from the Marines with only one leg and he’s struggling with PTSD with the death of a close friend during combat. Skylar’s kind of in purgatory as well: she’s getting ready to leave her small town and go to San Francisco for college. The relationship they develop is confusing for them and they help each other find the perfect balance. For me though, I didn’t feel that Josh was… genuine. There’s nothing more I hate than boys who sleep around with girls just because they’re bored. It’s hard for me to grasp that he’ll stay loyal to any girl, particularly to Skylar. I see their chemistry there, I do, but there’s just a disconnect between me and them. While the majority of readers loved I’ll Meet You There, I have to step aside and admit that it was a letdown and that I expected much more from Demetrios.


 

None of the Above by I.W.Gregorio

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: April 7, 2015

Pages: 352

Source: Edelweiss/Harper Collins

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio is, by definition, a read that preaches awareness about intersex. I was a little hesitant in picking this up because I knew nothing about intersex, but after flipping the last page, I’m glad that I decided to pick this one up. I appreciate Gregorio for putting this YA Contemporary out there for readers to understand the sensitivity of intersex. The plot itself is pretty normal: Krissy is a popular girl dating the most popular guy at school, until she finds out she is intersex. She needs to turn her life around by coping with being intersex. None of the Above explores the social and mental effects of discovering one to be intersex, mostly how bullying comes into play. Gregorio does a good job of educating the reader about what exactly intersex is without info-dumping and making it too biological. There’s not much else to say about None of the Above; if it weren’t for the diversity of the novel, the plot would be pretty average and not over-the-top exciting. However, I would recommend it if you’re curious or open-minded to learning more about the LGBTQ+ community.

 

3 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: I’ll Meet You There & None of the Above

  1. 1st book: I am SO glad I read your little review of this one. I have it on my shelves and have heard nothing but AMAZING things about it, but knowing your experience (and our very similar tastes), I think I’m going to wait a while before I get to it.

    2nd book: This is so crazy that you mention a story about intersex individuals because in my sociology class we are currently discussing intersexuality! My professor is actually intersex, and like you, I knew nothing about the topic until he spoke about it. I’m definitely interested in checking this book out now!

    Like

    1. I think you might actually really enjoy I’LL MEET YOU THERE more than I did, actually. Idk, just gut instinct. And that is so cool that your professor is intersex/you’re learning about it! NONE OF THE ABOVE definitely does more about personal relationships and stuff, idk if you guys do that in class but I think you would like it!

      Like

  2. Hummm, I’m glad I read your review for I’ll Meet You There. I admit I have totally been taken in by the hype for that one and I’m sure my reaction would have been the same as you if I had read it. Just good to keep in mind that I shouldn’t let my expectations get out of control! I do still want to read it sometime, with my expectations in check.

    And as for the second book, I really don’t know what interest is either! I’m sure I could learn a lot from it, so I’m thinking that one would be a good one for me to check out as well.

    Great thoughts, Jen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

