Promposal by Rhonda Helms

 

Promposal by Rhonda Helms

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Release Date: February 10, 2015

Pages: 224

Source: Edelweiss/Simon Pulse

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Hi, my name is Jen and I’m a senior in high school. I’m also freaking out because my senior prom is just a few months away.

Naturally, picking up Promposal by Rhonda Helms seemed like the way to go. Who wouldn’t want to read about other people’s Prom-a Drama? I knew it was going to be cute, quick, and entertaining, and that’s exactly what I got.

This book follows two POVs, one from Camilla and one from her best friend, Joshua. Camilla was a pretty flat character for me–there wasn’t anything that I liked or disliked about her. I think Helms could have dived more into her character. She’s crushing on Benjamin, the boy in her psychology class, but gets publicly asked by a boy who she doesn’t know very well. Camilla’s best friend Joshua is the other main character, and he’s crushing on his other best friend, Ethan. For me, Joshua was a lot more interesting to read about because we saw more of his insecurities and strengths.

The overall plot is fun and as I mentioned before, entertaining. It’s prom season so we get to see different types of promposals, successful and awkward. It’s making me nervous for my own!

And this totally isn’t that big of a deal, but I feel that Helms didn’t quite capture the senior-in-high-school life exactly. As a senior myself, I can honestly say that Helms seemed to excluded the senioritis aspect of high school. Everyone in the book was so excited to finish homework and projects!…. Uh, what?

Anyhow, Promposal was a really fun, albeit not memorable story. If you’re feeling nostalgic about high school, or if YOUR senior prom is coming up, I would suggest reading this joyful and heartwarming story.

4 thoughts on “Promposal by Rhonda Helms

  1. Yeah, let’s be real, no senior is excited about homework. Heck, no freshman is even excited about homework!

    Anyway, hats off to you for reading a book about prom because the prom drama was waaaay too high in my high school for me to want to read a fictionalized account of it. I’m sure you’ll have a GREAT time at prom, though, Jen, and, honestly, it gets hyped up so much. Senior Prom wasn’t even a really important night during my senior year, I have to say, so just enjoy and don’t worry about it at all. It’ll be a ton of fun, more so if you have lower expectations. 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh man…I’m also starting to freak out a bit about prom. I’m not too overly excited about it and wasn’t even sure I really wanted to go, but it’s actually been pretty fun to try to find a dress. At least promposals haven’t started yet in my school…

    And hell yeah, no senior wants or is excited about doing/finishing homework. Hahahaha! We’re lazy as hell, especially after all those college apps. 😛

    Great review! I wouldn’t necessarily expect that much going into this anyway, but I think I’ll probably just skip it if it’s really not that memorable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

