I haven’t read an Angel book in awhile… until now

I honestly don’t remember the last time I read a YA Angel book. They’re so unpopular now that the dystopian trend is going crazy! Okay fine, technically the last angel book I read was Clockwork Princess, but whatever. However, this book I finished recently caught my attention in the first place because SO MANY Aussie and UK readers loved it. That book I’m talking about is:

Shadows by Paula Weston

There are so many 5-star reviews of this book on Goodreads, so obviously, I had to check it out.

For me though, this book was pretty much okay. The world-building is strong and Paula Weston really has this world worked out and everything, but there’s something that kept me disconnected from the story as a whole. I think it was the characters themselves. Gaby is a kick-ass, persevering girl, but I wasn’t emotionally invested. And sure, her sexual tension with Rafa was off the charts, but I wasn’t dying/fangirling.

It wasn’t until the end of the book that it really started to pick up (there’s a fight scene, so duh). More answers were revealed, which definitely peaked my interest.

This leads me to my conflict! I’m honestly not sure if I should continue on with the series. The answers that were revealed in the end have my curiosity up really high, but other than that… nah. And plus, the series isn’t even done yet. I really am not sure about this book.

*Thanks to Netgalley and Tundra Books for providing me with a copy to review in exchange for an honest review*

Did you read Shadows? Should I read the next book?

Leave a Reply

