Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick | Review

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Release Date: October 7, 2014
Pages: 400
Source: Edelweiss/Simon & Schuster BFYR
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Being a fan of Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush series, I was more than excited to hear about Black Ice. A non-paranormal, but still a bit on the darker side? YES PLEASE. After reading this fast-paced thriller, I can happily say Black Ice did not disappoint.

Three words to describe Black Ice as a whole: suspenseful, mysterious, and FRIGID. The majority of the novel is all mystery and I did not know who to trust! There are so many little bits and pieces that come together really well in the end. I think Fitzpatrick nailed it with the details, it definitely added to the thrilling aspect. And man, those icy, snowy mountains! I was sitting in my bed when I read this book, and all I wanted to do was cuddle in my goose-down blanket! So well down in the imagery department.

Characterization was the one factor I was iffy about. Britt, the main character, and her best friend Korbi head to the mountains over spring break, and I honestly didn’t see why they were friends, let alone best friends. Korbi was so annoying! They didn’t trust each other and I failed to see her significance in the story. Britt was enjoyable though, a very realistic portrayal of a new adult dealing with issues that are prevalent in her age range.

The romance is definitely interesting to say the least. Without spoiling anything, I’ll just say: I SHIPPED IT.

Overall the story is very satisfying and literally a page-flipper. This book is pretty thick–400 pages–and I finished it in maybe 4 hours (which is super fast for me)! I was hooked from start to finish, and I think you will be too! I mean, who doesn’t love a good fugitive story?

2 thoughts on “Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick | Review

Leave a Reply

