The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry

 

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry

Publisher: Roaring Book Press
Release Date: September 23, 2014
Pages: 368
Source: Netgalley/Macmillan Children’s
Rating: 3.5 out of 5

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place is a middle grade murder mystery that I thoroughly enjoyed. It’s one of those classic murder mystery stories that you can easily get invested in. The story starts off with a bang (not really, more like a choke) as the headmistress and her brother die of poison from their meal. The story kicks off from there with non-stop clues and mysteries.

What made me love tSSoPP was definitely the setting. The story is set in 1890 England, and I think Julie Berry did a fantastic job capturing the language, appearance of the girls, how they were supposed to behave, and the town. It really added to the atmosphere of the story, and allowed me to be fully immersed in it. *claps*

I also really liked how a lot of characters are introduced throughout the entire story so it keeps the reader guessing. I honestly didn’t suspect the killer to be that person, but it makes a lot of sense in the end.

Despite the multitude of characters however, I found it to be a problem in connecting with the main characters. There are seven main characters, all the girls at the finishing school. I couldn’t distinguish between a lot of them and it was a bit confusing. The fact that there was so many of them made it difficult to have a good connection and appreciation for them.

As a whole, The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place is a fun murder mystery that kept me on my toes with the clue-dropping, fresh introduction of many characters, and a generally witty demeanor. Although I wished I could have gotten to know a certain main character better, this book is still worth the read.

Leave a Reply

