The Dolls by Kiki Sullivan

 

The Dolls by Kiki Sullivan

Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Release Date: September 2, 2014
Pages: 384
Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins
Rating: 2 out of 5

The Dolls by Kiki Sullivan started as a pretty good story– the best way to put it is Mean Girls meets Pretty Little Liars, set in the South. That sounds pretty crazy in a good way, right? I was spooked out, intrigued, and dying to read more. However, somewhere along the way, The Dolls took the wrong turn and by the end, I was shaking my head no.

When the main character Eveny is introduced to the paranormal and voodoo aspects of the town, things got really weird. I was going along with it, but it was strangely uncomfortable to read about. I thought the voodoo stuff was pretty cool in the beginning, but that was basically it. Everything else could be described as witchy spells/ceremonies. I was really looking forward to the voodoo aspect in this book, but it became drab and typical.

The main character wasn’t particularly likable, but she wasn’t completely annoying either. She really reminded me of Caty from Mean Girls, wanting to fit in with the bitchy, popular girls. Speaking of the bitchy, popular girls, The Dolls, they are probably the reason why I didn’t like this book very much. Practically everyone Eveny befriends turns out to be bratty, inappropriate, or extremely shallow in some way. I say no to those friends.

And the romance…. Was not for me. It was also very cliché “stay away from me, because I’m only trying to protect you” thing (totally Edward Cullen). I felt no chemistry, and it was really just not believable.

There’s a murder mystery in this story as well, and let me tell you, I am usually pretty clueless about who the killer is. But inThe Dolls, it’s crystal clear. It was SO PREDICTABLE. Sigh.

There’s no doubt that there will be a sequel, because the issue in this story isn’t exactly solved. I can honestly say I have no interest in continuing with this series because of the contentious characters, boring romance, and predictable mystery. While the cover is awesome, the story inside was not one that I could enjoy.

Leave a Reply

