July Wrap-Up | 2014

July Wrap Up 2014It’s time to wrap up what books I read in July! I ended completing 11 books! Eleven books is a lot for me! During the school year I average 5 books a month, so this is good stuff. During July, I also danced 11+ hours a week, studied ACT everyday, went to Canada for a week, and volunteered once every week. I feel like an accomplished lady!

Below are the books I read in chronological order, and my quick thoughts on the book!

 

#1: There Will Come a Time by Carrie Arcos

Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This book was so so amazing! It’s a really emotional contemporary about a boy who loses his twin sister, and over time, bonds with his dead sister’s best friend. This one really hit it for me, because I’m a twin (whaat?), so I especially connected with the MC.

#2: The Jewel by Amy Ewing

Rating: 5 out of 5
I fangirled about this book so hard. By all means, it’s not perfect. But there’s SO much that I loved about it, and it was so incredibly addicting. If you love ballgowns, paranormal, and politics, CHECK THIS BOOK OUT. Please.

#3: The Dolls by Kiki Sullivan

Rating: 2 out of 5
This one definitely interesting. It started off really cool – a mix of PLL and Mean Girls, but then when the paranormal stuff came in, just… no. Nope. The romance was awkward and kinda insta-lusty. This one was not for me.Look for my review later this month!

#4: The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno

Rating: 3 out of 5
This one was a very mediocre psychological thriller read for me. It’s short, too. It hooked me in the beginning, but became a bit boring and slow paced after that. I didn’t love or hate the MC either, just sort of meh.

#5: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Rating: 5 out of 5
Obviously!! This was my third time reading it, and ugh, I love it so much. Is it even possible to love a book so much?? I didn’t write a review on this book since there are so many out there.

#6: Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley

Rating: 5 out of 5
OH MAN. One of my favorites for the year for sure. I did NOT expect to like this book THIS much because it’s set at a military academy but oh my goodness, it was so amazing. Especially the romance, and A MYSTERY (WHAT?). It’s awesome. Love Joy’s debut! Look out for my review later this month!

#7: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Rating: 5 out of 5
This one was definitely better than City of Bones, but I still gave it the same rating. More action, more mysterious, but sexual tension! LOOOVE. Also no full review for this one, but check out my thoughts on Goodreads!

#8: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

Rating: 5 out of 5
I kind of ended up binge reading part of this series. I COULDN’T STOP (WOULDN’T STOP). And omg that ending = feels. A chunkster, but also a page-flipper. No full review, but check out my feels on Goodreads!

#9: The Program by Suzanne Young

Rating: 4 out of 5
I listened to this one audiobook on my trip to and from Canada, and it wasn’t as good the second time around, but I still thought it was decent! Loved the romance and the world.

#10: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

Rating: 4 out of 5
This one is the worst so far in the series, IMO. Obviously, this half of the series was not planned so Clare had to come up with a new problem for the books to continue. It was still good though. Check out my thoughts on Goodreads!

#11: The Treatment by Suzanne Young

Rating: 3.5 out of 5
As the sequel to The Program, I thought this one was alright. New characters, weren’t as relatable and well-developed. Good conclusion to the series though.

That’s it for me! I read a total of 4,500+ pages this month! What books did you read? I hope you all had a good reading month for July as well!

Leave a Reply

