There Will Come a Time by Carrie Arcos

There Will Come a Time by Carrie Arcos

Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: April 15, 2014
Pages: 320
Source: Edelweiss/Simon Pulse
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

There Will Come a Time by Carrie Arcos is my first read from her, but it certainly won’t be my last. This story is raw to the bone, and I couldn’t get enough from Arcos. Arcos knows how to dig deep into a reader’s soul and find all of the ways to reveal the FEELS hidden inside of a reader. From the characters to the relationships to the familial aspects, There Will Come a Time impressed me page after page until I was left with a heart that was broken, mended, and whole again.

Being a twin, I really felt all of the emotions Mark was feeling (not that my twin is dead), but it really hit me to the core. While he is a guy, I still understood every time he was angry, outraged, depressed, or lonely. I can’t even imagine what it would be like if my twin was killed in a car accident. I loved following Mark’s journey as he came to terms with his sister’s death with the help of the people around him who love and care for him.

Speaking of the other characters, let me just say that Mark is so incredibly lucky to be surrounded by people who reach out to him constantly. Hanna and Sebastian, his two best friends, especially; they were so helpful and indefinitely stuck by with him till the end, even if Mark didn’t treat them so nicely out of rage. Even better was the Top 5 List they experienced together! Additionally, Mark’s family was really endearing. I loved that in this YA story, Mark actually loves his stepmom and stepsister. And kudos to Arcos for including diversity in YA! Being Filipino, Arcos added some great cultural lingo and cuisine among Mark’s family.

I couldn’t have asked for a better conclusion to the story. My heart lurched and nearly jumped out of my throat in one of the last scenes– Arcos made it so powerful and emotional. I loved seeing Mark become a renewed person by the end, even confronting his fears regarding his sister’s death.

Carrie Arcos has crafted a beautiful contemporary that deals with grief, friendship, love, and growth. Not only did she craft such a gorgeous story, it was one that hit me emotionally to the core. There Will Come a Time is a special story that I hold dear to my heart, and I hope once you read it, it affects you in just the same way.

1 thought on “There Will Come a Time by Carrie Arcos”

Leave a Reply

